Using primary sources, which you must locate, you need to research a particular aspect regarding how people interact with the environment in traditional ways, and how that impacts environmental sustainability. You also need to use the Chicago citation format style, either the author/date or footnotes system. This guide provides suggested sources and research tips.
Get in touch with any questions; I am happy to help!
Many articles will be available with files you can download. In LibrarySearch you need to sign in with your MaineStreet login and password.
In the databases, you will need to click a link that says "Find It" to access the full text. This process will check Fogler Library's subscriptions for access to the article.
If we do not have access, you can then use our free Interlibrary Loan service to request the article. Generally, you will see a link that will take you to the ILLiad service.
The first time you use the ILLiad service you will need to create your free account. It generally takes one business day to receive the article.
You need to base your project on primary sources; here are links to the recommended places to look:
Northeast Archives of Folklore and Oral History - This University of Maine collection is housed in the Special Collections unit of Fogler Library. This page has more information about the collection.
American Folklife Center - Affiliated with the Library of Congress, you can search their digital collections. Your syllabus includes some suggested collections that you can search.
LibrarySearch is Fogler Library's catalog, and you can search for both books and articles. For this course, you will be focusing on academic journal articles, and there are filters, such as peer review for articles, that you can use.
I recommend using the advanced search template, where you can combine keywords, and limit your search to Articles.
Once you have a result list, then you should use the filters on the left hand side to limit to Articles, the then click on Apply Filters:
And the final step is to choose the Peer Reviewed filter under Availability, then hit Apply Filters:
There are a number of places to search for scholarly journal articles, and your topic will influence what tool you use. While you can use the filter for peer reviewed articles in LibrarySearch, there can be benefits to using tailored library databases, which group articles in similar fields. Here are four library databases that might be helpful. In each, you have the option to choose Advanced Search, which allows you to combine topics in your search
Google Scholar may also be a possibility, but use it very carefully. We lose the ability to have edited, verified collections with this product. To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.
Your syllabus also includes two specifically recommended journals, linked below. You can search within the journals from these LibrarySearch links.
When you click on a Journal link, you will open the LibrarySearch database record.
Scroll down and you will see two options: Search Inside and View Online.
Search Inside allows you to search for a concept within the articles in the journal. View Online allows you to browse all the journals, by year(volume) and issue.
For the example below, we are accessing the journal Journal of Folklore Research.
For this course, you are to use the Chicago Manual of Style formatting system.
In this formatting system, you can choose one of two ways to use it:
Check out these links for examples for both:
