Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

Arab American Heritage Month Resources: Books and Documents at U Maine

The History of National Arab American Heritage Month

National Arab American Heritage Month (NAAHM) celebrates the history, culture, and contributions of the diverse Arab American community. The month celebrates immigrants and those who trace their history back to twenty-two countries: Algeria, Bahrain, the Comoro Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates, Lebanon, and Yemen.

National Arab American Heritage Month has been celebrated in some areas since the 1990s but has picked up more national recognition in the last few years. In 2019, two congresswomen, Debbie Dingell and Rashida Tlaib, released a congressional resolution for NAAHM to be recognized on a national scale. In April 2021, the US State Department recognized April as National Arab American Heritage Month for the first time. 

Read President Biden's Letter to the Arab American community

Read more about National Arab American Heritage Month.

URSUS Catalog Search

You can search for more books and government documents using the Ursus Search box below. You can also try these Subject Searches:

Chat is offline. Contact the library.