Subject Guides: AVS 249: Laboratory and Companion Animal Science: Databases

Recommended Databases

Below are databases that are recommended for your research. You can find more databases on the Animal & Veterinary Sciences Research Guide.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index from 1900-present. Search by word in the title, keyword, and abstract. Perform cited reference and related records searches. Limit by author affiliation and document type. Over 4,000 journals are indexed.
Zoological Record
Zoological Record indexes the worldwide zoological literature, indexing over 4,600 journals. Search by author, subject, journal name, and a variety of descriptors and codes which are explained in the database. 1864-present.

Animal Welfare Act History Digital Collection
U.S Department of Agriculture. The AWAHDC covers the history and use of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) including information on animal care and use topics, including the AWA and its regulations. The AWA covers animals bred for commercial sale, used in research, transported commercially, or exhibited to the public.

How to search using the LibrarySearch catalog
How to find a journal article
You've identified a useful journal article; how do you actually find it to read?
How to find peer-reviewed research
What is peer review, why is it important, and how can you find this research?
How to access articles using the Find It button
Access articles within databases using the "Find It" button.
How to find journals by title using the LibrarySearch catalog
Find Fogler's complete holdings for a specific journal title (both print and electronic).
How to find books using the LibrarySearch catalog
The LibrarySearch catalog contains items from all campuses in the University of Maine system.
How to save and use the UMS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet
The proxy bookmarklet will help you access the full text of articles in journals on the open web that Fogler Library subscribes to.
How to access and download full-text articles from links in Brightspace
Your instructor has put a link to an article in Brightspace. How do you read it?

There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:

Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.