It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes literature on environmental sciences, environmental protection and management, and agriculture. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
U.S Department of Agriculture. The AWAHDC covers the history and use of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) including information on animal care and use topics, including the AWA and its regulations. The AWA covers animals bred for commercial sale, used in research, transported commercially, or exhibited to the public.
ASFA is updated quarterly and covers the total aquatic environment (freshwater, brackish, and marine). Information is included on living resources as well as technology, policy, and non-living resources. Over 4,500 journals are indexed as well as conference proceedings, books, and government and technical reports. Abstracts are included for most citations. 1971-present.
BioOne is a searchable full-text database of more than 150 journals covering a broad range of the biological sciences focusing on biology, botany, entomology, and zoology. Most of the journals are published by member societies of the American Institute of Biological Sciences. Coverage is from 2000 to present.
BIOSIS Previews is the premier database in the biological sciences, subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 5,500 serial publications as well as books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents are indexed. There are 58 separate data fields that can be searched including author, title, publication source, organism, concepts, super taxa, publication type, author affiliation, and abstract keyword. Searches can be limited to review articles. 1926-present.
Indexes the broad area of the interactions of organisms with their environment. Includes information on conservation, pollution, management, environmental degradation, and reclamation. Ecology Abstracts can be searched by author, title, subject, and abstract word. Indexes over 900 journals. 1982-present. Updated monthly.
A searchable database of full-text scholarly journals including several major ecology journals such as: Ecology (1920-2011), Functional Ecology (1987-2008), Journal of Applied Ecology (1964-2008), and Journal of Biogeography (1974-2003) and biology journals such as: American Journal of Botany (1914-2008), Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (2003-2008), Biological Bulletin 1899-2012), and many others.
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles. 1966-present.
Springer Nature Experiments is a collection of protocols and methods for life sciences research. It comprises Protocols Exchange (an open access repository); and subscription titles Nature Methods; Nature Protocols; and Springer Protocols, including Methods in Molecular Biology.
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index from 1900-present. Search by word in the title, keyword, and abstract. Perform cited reference and related records searches. Limit by author affiliation and document type. Over 4,000 journals are indexed.
Use Google Scholar through the registered Fogler Library link for more full text content.
How to access articles
There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.