Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

Fogler Library Workshop Series

Fal 2023 Workshops

Fogler Library Scavenger Hunt

Join us this fall and check out all the cool stuff Fogler Library has to offer. We've put together an awesome scavenger hunt that you can do on your own time. It'll help you figure out how to use the library as a study spot, a hangout spot, and a treasure trove of info for your classes. If you participate (either online or in person), you'll have a chance to win a gift card for the University Bookstore! 

Join us August 28th-September 8th for a Scavenger Hunt! You can join us in the library or online.
Start the Scavenger Hunt! (Link will be live on August 28)

Guided Tours

Visit the library during the following times to meet with a librarian for a tour of Fogler. You'll discover what the space has to offer and get to know some of our staff along the way. Tours will last approximately 20 minutes and will meet outside Library Classroom 2. 

August 28, 2023 @ 2pm

August 29, 2023 @ 12pm & 2pm

August 30, 2023 @ 12pm & 2pm

Finding Information

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Learn how to search for the articles and books you need using Fogler Library resources and beyond.
No registration is required for this event. But click the date and time for a calendar invite.;

September 5th @ 11am - 11:30am in Library Classroom 2
September 6th @ 4pm - 4:30pm in Library Classroom 2

Overcoming Paywalls

Hit a paywall? No problem. Fogler Library might already have the article you need. Join us to learn how to get past paywalls while doing research.
No registration is required for this event. But click the date and time below for a calendar invite.

September 5th @ 4pm - 4:30pm in Library Classroom 2
September 7th @ 11am - 11:30am in Library Classroom 2

Reliable Resources

Not sure where to find information you can trust? Are your sources credible? Is AI a reliable resource? Fogler librarians will show you how to figure it all out!
No registration is required for this event. But click the date and time for a calendar invite.

September 6th @ 11am - 11:30am in Library Classroom 2
September 7th @ 4pm - 4:30pm in Library Classroom 2

Staying on Top of Literature

This workshop includes tools and strategies for staying current in your field of research, including the use of search alerts, citation alerts, and working with subject specialist librarians. This workshop will help you remain up to date on new research as a student or early researcher.
Registration is required for Zoom workshops and encouraged for in-person workshops. Click on the date of the workshop to register.

September 12th @ 12pm - 12:3030pm on Zoom
September 12th @ 4pm - 4:30am on Zoom

Citation Management Workshops

Learn to use citation managers and save time by organizing records of articles, books, and other publications to create in-text citations and bibliographies. This workshop is offered in-person and over Zoom.
Registration is required for Zoom workshops. Click on the date of the workshop to register for a Zoom session or to get a calendar invite to an in-person session.

September 14th @ 12pm - 1pm in Library Classroom 2
September 14th @ 4pm - 5pm on Zoom
November 7th @ 12pm - 1pm in Library Classroom 2
November 7th @ 4pm - 5pm on Zoom

Banned Books: Conversations at Fogler

Heard about all the book banning around the US and in Maine this year? Join Fogler's Librarians for a guided group discussion on this topic. Snacks will be provided.
Register here! Note that space is limited and registration will be required.

October 4, 2023. 7-8pm. The Salon in Fogler Library.

Literature Reviews

Learn about tools and strategies to help graduate students make their literature searches more efficient. These include strategic searching and organizational methods.
Registration is required for Zoom workshops. Click on the date of the workshop to register for a Zoom session or to receive a calendar event to an in-person session.

October 16th @ 12pm - 1pm in Library Classroom 2
October 16th @ 4pm - 5pm on Zoom

Halloweekend Author Panel: Conversations at Fogler

This Halloween Eve come to Fogler's Salon to listen to the some of the scariest stories Maine has to offer. And to meet the minds responsible! Three authors of horror living in Maine are visiting Fogler Library for a panel and reading of their books.
Register here! Space is limited and registration is required.

October 30, 2023. 7pm-8pm. The Salon in Fogler Library

Citation Drop-ins

Citations giving you a headache? Drop into Fogler Library to get help with MLA, APA, Chicago, or any other citation style. Join us in Library Classroom 2 all three days or on Zoom Tuesday and Wednesday.

November 6 @ 7-8 pm in Library Classroom 2
November 7 @  7-8 pm Zoom & in Library Classroom 2
November 8 @  7-8 pm Zoom & in Library Classroom 2

Spring 2023 Workshops

​Fogler Library is proud to present its Workshop Series, covering topics that support student learning and research. 

Citation Drop-In

Citations giving you a headache? Drop into Fogler Library to get help with MLA, APA, Chicago, or any other citation style. Show up anytime during these hour-long sessions for answers to your citation questions. Attend in-person in Library Classroom 2 or virtually over Zoom.

Registration is not required but you must register to receive a Zoom link.

March 27th @ 7pm - 8pm

March 28th @ 4pm - 5pm

March 29th @ 4pm - 5pm

March 29th @ 7pm - 8pm

Mystery in the Stacks

January 30, 2023. 7pm. Lynch Room in Fogler Library

Will you test your courage? Join us for an adventure and save the library!

Investigate a Mystery in the stacks at Fogler Library. Defeat the Creatures that go bump in the night using the library. Play Call of Cthulhu with us. Snacks will be provided.

Registration form

Fogler Library Scavenger Hunt

Join us January 30-February 3 for a Scavenger Hunt! You can join us in the library or online.

Explore the Library at your own pace. Have fun and learn something along the way. There are two versions: in person at Fogler Library from any of our service desks or online at the Fogler Library Website. You will need access to a computer, tablet, or phone for both versions. Correctly submitting all of the answers will enter you to win a gift card to the bookstore!

Start the Scavenger Hunt! (Link will be live on January 30)

Conversations at Fogler: Book Banning

January 31, 2023. 7-8pm. Lynch Room in Fogler Library.

Heard about all the book banning around the US and in Maine this year? Join Fogler's Librarians for a guided group discussion on this topic. Snacks will be provided.

Please Register here.

Fall 2022 Workshops

​Fogler Library is proud to present its Workshop Series, covering topics that support student learning and research. 

 

Overcoming Paywalls

Hit a paywall? No problem. Fogler Library might already have the article you need. Join us to learn how to get past paywalls while doing research.

Tuesday, September 27, 2022 @ 3pm-3:30pm on Zoom

Topic Searching

With so much information out there, how do you find something about your specific topic? We’ll show you how to do a productive and manageable search.

Tuesday, September 27, 2022 @ 12pm-12:30pm on Zoom

Choosing Databases

Many research articles available through Fogler Library can be accessed in collections called databases. Let us show you how to identify the most useful ones to your project.

Monday, September 26 @ 12pm-12:30 pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 12:30pm-12:50pm)

Monday, October 3 @ 7pm-7:30 pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour beforehand @ 6:30pm-6:50pm)

Tuesday, October 4 @ 3pm-3:30 pm on Zoom

Wednesday, October 5 @ 12pm-12:30 pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 12:30pm-12:50pm)

Why Cite?

Citing your sources can sometimes feel overwhelming. In this workshop, we’ll help you understand citation styles and avoid plagiarism. 

Monday, September 26 @ 3pm-3:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 3:30pm-3:50pm)

Wednesday, September 28 @ 12pm-12:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 12:30pm-12:50pm)

Monday, October 3 @ 12pm-12:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 12:30pm-12:50pm)

Tuesday, October 4 @ 7pm-7:30pm on Zoom

Wednesday, October 5 @ 3pm-3:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 3:30pm-3:50pm)

Maximizing Google Scholar

Learn how to use Google Scholar (and its easy to use search tool) to help with your next research project. A librarian will teach you how to connect Google Scholar to Fogler Library to find your article in record time.

Monday, September 26 @ 7pm-7:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour beforehand @ 6:30pm-6:50pm)

Wednesday, September 28 @ 3pm-3:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 3:30pm-3:50pm)

Monday, October 3 @ 3pm-3:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour @ 3:30pm-3:50pm)

Tuesday, October 4 @ 12pm-12:30pm on Zoom

Wednesday, October 5 @ 7pm-7:30pm in Library Classroom 2 (w/ optional Library Tour beforehand @ 6:30pm-6:50pm)

Citation Drop-In

Citations giving you a headache? Drop into Fogler Library to get help with MLA, APA, Chicago, or any other citation style. 

Monday, November 7 @ 3pm-4pm in Library Classroom 2

Tuesday, November 8 @ 7pm-8pm in Library Classroom 2

Wednesday, November 9 @ 12pm-1pm in Library Classroom 2

Library Tour

Meet Fogler Library, discover the best study spots, and learn where and how to check-out books. 

NOTE: Many of our workshops include a library tour before or after the session. Please see the workshop dates for more details, or feel free to join us for just the library tours listed below. Each tour lasts around twenty minutes.

 

Monday, September 26, 2022 @ 12:30pm, 3:30pm & 6:30pm. Meet at Library Classroom 2

Monday, October 3, 2022 @ 12:30pm, 3:30pm & 6:30pm. Meet at Library Classroom 2

Wednesday, October 5, 2022 @ 12:30pm, 3:30pm & 6:30pm. Meet at Library Classroom 2

Spring 2022 Workshops

Research Organization with Zotero

Monday, February 14, 2022 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Where was that article? Where did my references go? I need to write that paper! Fogler Library can help. We’ll show you how to use Zotero to keep research organized and help you with citations and references when

Tackling the Library Databases

Tuesday, February 15, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, March 1, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Your Fogler Library subscribes to databases for every discipline at UMaine. Join us and learn how to make use of them to get articles for homework assignments, research, and more. Why use a database, can’t I just Google Search? We’ll show you how to get the best results most efficiently using  Databases.

Accessing the Research you Need

Wednesday, February 16, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Have you ever found a great article or other digital resource but been unable to access the full text? Or run into a paywall? Come to this brief workshop for a sneak peek into how the librarians go about finding those articles for you. You’ll learn all the different avenues we can use to find an article’s full text. 

Google Scholar at its Best!

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 2

Tuesday, March 8, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

We’d never tell you not to use Google! But let us show you how to use it effectively. In this workshop, we’ll provide tips and tricks for using Google Scholar and demonstrate Fogler Library tools that can improve your results. 

Web of Science Database

Monday, February 28 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, March 9 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

How to enhance your use of Web of Science. We’ll share tips for finding articles, the benefits of creating an account to enhance your searching, creating alerts, using marked lists, and search history. We’ll talk about how to save article citations, send them to yourself or a citation manager, and answer any questions you have.

SciFinder-n: An Introduction

Wednesday, March 2 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Monday, March 7 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

SciFinder-n is a database of chemical literature produced by Chemical Abstract Services (CAS). Drop into this workshop to learn how to set up a SciFinder-n account and how to efficiently search for articles, patents, and substance information.

Citation Drop-In Sessions

Monday, March 28 @ 3pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, March 29 @ 12:30pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, March 30 @ 6pm in Library Classroom 1

Thursday, March 31 @ 12:30pm in Library Classroom 1

Have a Research Paper due? Not sure if your references are right? Come to Fogler Library this week and we can help you check your citations to make sure they’re correct. We have experts in APA, MLA, Turabian, CSE, and other styles, drop in and we’ll help you out.

Fall 2021 Workshops

Cloud Based Storage Workshop

Made in partnership with the Advanced Computing Group, UMS

Getting Started with R

Made in partnership with the Advanced Computing Group, UMS

Spring 2021 Workshops

Fall 2020 Workshops

Fall 2019 Workshop Recordings

You can find the 2nd set of slides and files here: https://tinyurl.com/UMaineRworkshop

You can find the 2nd set of slides and files here: https://tinyurl.com/UMaineRworkshop

Previous Workshop Recordings 2018-2020

Workshop recordings are available by clicking on the corresponding semester in the menu or listed below.
Workshops are in partnership with the Advanced Computing Group, unless otherwise noted. 

Spring 2020

2/5 Research Data Management, Ami Gaspar
​3/4 Writing a Research Abstract, Ally Hammond (In partnership with CUGR)
3/11 Creating Effective Research Posters, Danielle Levesque (In partnership with CUGR)

Fall 2019

9/12 High Performance Computing, Steve Cousins
9/24 Getting Started with R, Amanda Klemmer
10/1 Intro to Graphing & Analysis with R, Amanda Klemmer
10/8 Intro to Python, Mark Royer
10/22 Formatting a Manuscript in LaTeX, Eisso Atzema

Spring 2019

2/21 Data Management Planning, Ami Gaspar
4/11 Intro to MatLab, Andrew Thomas

Fall 2018

10/18 Python for Beginners, Curtis Meadow
11/29 Data Visualization for R and Python, Bruce Maxwell (Colby College)

Spring 2018

2/8 R for Beginners, Aaron Weiskittel
3/8 Introductory Python: Making Pictures with Code, Bruce Maxwell
4/12 Introduction to Cloud Data Storage, Ami Gaspar

Chat is offline. Contact the library.