Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Fogler Library Workshop Series

Upcoming Workshops

​Fogler Library is proud to present its Workshop Series, covering topics that support student learning and research. 

Upcoming Workshops:

How to Find Articles 

Tuesday, January 18 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1 

Monday, January 24, 2022 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1 

Have a paper to write? Not sure how to get the articles you need? Join us at Fogler Library and we’ll show you how to find articles and download them from the library (no Paywall). If Fogler doesn’t have access to them, we'll show you how to use Interlibrary Loan to get articles electronically delivered within a few days.

Meet Fogler Library

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 2

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

In this short, 30 minute introduction to Fogler Library, we’ll walk you through our services, how to use them, and where to find them. We’ll unlock the mysteries of the Library building so you’ll never be lost again, explain how the books are organized, and give you a leg up with finding information on our website. Stop by for the essentials of how Fogler Library works for you.

How to Find Books

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, January 25, 2022 @12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Join us at Fogler library to learn how to find books in the library. We’ll show you how to read call numbers, search the Ursus Catalog, read a catalog record, and open an eBook. If we don’t have the book you need, we’ll show you how to get it sent to Fogler for you to check-out.

Research Organization with Zotero

Monday, February 14, 2022 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Where was that article? Where did my references go? I need to write that paper! Fogler Library can help. We’ll show you how to use Zotero to keep research organized and help you with citations and references when

Tackling the Library Databases

Tuesday, February 15, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, March 1, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

Your Fogler Library subscribes to databases for every discipline at UMaine. Join us and learn how to make use of them to get articles for homework assignments, research, and more. Why use a database, can’t I just Google Search? We’ll show you how to get the best results most efficiently using  Databases.

Accessing the Research you Need

Wednesday, February 16, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Have you ever found a great article or other digital resource but been unable to access the full text? Or run into a paywall? Come to this brief workshop for a sneak peek into how the librarians go about finding those articles for you. You’ll learn all the different avenues we can use to find an article’s full text. 

Google Scholar at its Best!

Wednesday, February 23, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 2

Tuesday, March 8, 2022 @ 12:30-1pm in Library Classroom 1

We’d never tell you not to use Google! But let us show you how to use it effectively. In this workshop, we’ll provide tips and tricks for using Google Scholar and demonstrate Fogler Library tools that can improve your results. 

Web of Science Database

Monday, February 28 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, March 9 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

How to enhance your use of Web of Science. We’ll share tips for finding articles, the benefits of creating an account to enhance your searching, creating alerts, using marked lists, and search history. We’ll talk about how to save article citations, send them to yourself or a citation manager, and answer any questions you have.

SciFinder-n: An Introduction

Wednesday, March 2 @ 6-6:45pm in Library Classroom 1

Monday, March 7 @ 3-3:45pm in Library Classroom 1

SciFinder-n is a database of chemical literature produced by Chemical Abstract Services (CAS). Drop into this workshop to learn how to set up a SciFinder-n account and how to efficiently search for articles, patents, and substance information.

Citation Drop-In Sessions

Monday, March 28 @ 3pm in Library Classroom 1

Tuesday, March 29 @ 12:30pm in Library Classroom 1

Wednesday, March 30 @ 6pm in Library Classroom 1

Thursday, March 31 @ 12:30pm in Library Classroom 1

Have a Research Paper due? Not sure if your references are right? Come to Fogler Library this week and we can help you check your citations to make sure they’re correct. We have experts in APA, MLA, Turabian, CSE, and other styles, drop in and we’ll help you out.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.