It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Month Resources: Articles and Primary Sources
Between 1936 and 1938, the WPA Federal Writers' Project hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states, were then compiled by the Library of Congress. The collection and the index are now searchable online.
The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files.
Repository of data about the trans-Atlantic and intra-American slave trade. It is focused on Digital Humanities and providing access to quantitative data. It also supports the creation of tables, charts, and other data visualization tools.
Database of primarily legal material related to slavery in the US and the English speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. This includes cases from the 20th century related to issues emanating from slavery. The database also includes modern law review articles discussing slavery.
Early American Newspapers (a subset of Readex's America's Historical Newspapers) allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
A vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It currently contains over 180,000 titles amounting to over 32 million fully-searchable pages. It includes sources mainly from the UK and the United States but also includes sources from other countries.
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This online collection presents newspapers edited by Frederick Douglass (1818-1895), the African American abolitionist who escaped slavery and became one of the most famous orators, authors, and journalists of the 19th century.
This research guide compiled by Marist College lists African American newspapers that have been digitized by different entities. A small number of the newspapers will not be available to U Maine students, but most are available for public use.