Biology & Ecology

This tutorial demonstrates how to find permalinks for materials available through library subscriptions (journal articles, etc.) so you can use the links on your Brightspace course page.

Overview and instructions on submitting print and electronic materials to place on reserve for your class.

Librarians regularly collaborate with faculty to address research needs of a given assignment or class project. Instruction can take place in the library, in your classroom, via web conferencing software, and/or through online course guides. Contact your subject librarian to set up a session. We look forward to working with you!

The Reference & Information Literacy Department has developed Information Literacy Guidelines for First Year Students. Take a look, and check with your Subject Librarian for more information.

This guide provides information about online resources that are free and open and may be used by faculty members to help students manage the cost of college (textbooks, journal articles, etc.).

Includes information on copyright basics, types of legal rights and licenses, fair use exceptions, and more.

See this guide for various film options that the Library provides access to. You may find additional films in SWANK Digital Campus, a selection of box office hits permitted for public performance in non-theatrical markets.

Academic Video Online Premium (AVOP) is a database containing films you might wish to use in your classes. If you would like to create a shorter clip for use in your class or your Blackboard site, follow these instructions:
1) Go to AVOP .
2) Create a user account (this is free) or sign in to your user account.
3) Find a video of interest, open it, and click on "Clips" at the top of the page.
4) On the "Clips" page, click on the red box that says, "Create New."
5) Slide the left and right markers to the time frame of interest, give the clip a name, and click "Save Changes."
NOTE: You will need to remember which video you accessed to make clips because your saved clip will reside in the "Clips" section of that video.
NOTE: In order to embed the clip in a course or elsewhere, the clip will need to be labeled "public" or "institutional." "Private" clips cannot be shared.

To embed, or link to, an entire video (and not a clip you have created), you do not have to create or log into a personal account in AVOP. Instead, open AVOP, find the video of interest, open the video, and click on Embed/Link to get the link or embed code for future use.

Altmetrics is the use of alternative, or nontraditional, measurements to better understand the extent of a work's scholarly impact. Altmetrics serve as a complement to traditional metrics (e.g., citation counts) by incorporating statistics regarding usage, capture, and mentions of scholarly works in online environments. Contact your subject librarian to learn more.

Interested in having books in URSUS and MaineCat delivered to your office? Want articles or book chapters from our print journals and books to be scanned and emailed to you? The Book and Journal Article Retrieval Service is a free service for faculty, staff, and graduate students to expedite your research needs.

Learn how you can increase the visibility of your publications, as well as preserve and provide free, open access to your research.

Looking for funding opportunities to support research, grants-related projects, and nonprofit programs and services? We have a wide range of resources, from proposal writing materials to powerful funding databases like Pivot and Foundation Directory Online. Contact Jen Bonnet, for a consultation.

This guide has instructions about how to set up your Google Scholar account so that it gives you access to material subscribed to by Fogler Library.

The Fogler Library Interlibrary Loan Department works with other libraries and information providers to obtain research materials not held in Fogler Library, or that are unavailable for request through URSUS or MaineCat.

Find subject and course guides created by librarians and tailored to specific types of research or assignments.

Resources for citation analysis. Contact your subject librarian for additional assistance.

Interested in learning about open access publishing? Use this guide to learn more about relevant tools and resources, and to find possible publication venues.

Contact your subject librarian directly with any purchase requests (books, journals, databases, DVDs, microfilm, etc.), or click the link above.

This guide points to UMaine resources, best practices, and tools and support for managing your research data.

This link has instructions about how to bookmark the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet in your web browser. When you are browsing the web through non-library resources and come across material behind a paywall, clicking on the Bookmarklet will reload the page through a University of Maine proxy server, allowing you full access to material Fogler Library subscribes to in most cases.

Researching anything related to the state of Maine or the university? Special Collections has you covered with resources and expert staff to assist you.

Fogler Library is a regional depository for U.S. Government publications. We are a selective depository for Canadian materials, and we have United Nations documents. For government documents assistance, you can email gregory.t.curtis@maine.edu.

An A-Z list of Fogler's databases.

Search for ejournals by title or topic.

We welcome your feedback on trial databases. Your input assists us with purchase decisions.

Not finding what you're looking for on the Fogler website? Browse this A-Z list or search for information of interest. If you still don't find what you need, your subject librarian will be happy to assist.

Peruse lists of items added to Fogler Library during the last month for which we have data available. Items are arranged by disciplinary areas.

Have lingering questions about our services or resources? Our "How do I?" page is a good place to start.

See what you have checked out or on hold, and renew items. You will need your MaineCard to log in.

Maintained by the Office of Research Administration to assist faculty with data-entry related to university service, research, participation, and other activities.

At certain times of the year, the library is able to offer some of its rooms and spaces to UMaine departments, organizations, or offices to host workshops, events, or informational sessions.

Additionally, Fogler Library has several display cases throughout the building, some of which are available to departments, groups, and individuals at UMaine to display exhibits of public interest.

Click the link above to find out more!