Subject Guides: ERS 315 Principles of Sedimentology & Stratigraphy Guide: Recommended Databases

Indexes and Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Licensed Number of Users: Unlimited
Coverage: 1960 to current
Locations: UM
Remote Access: Available
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef covers a number of areas of geology and related disciplines including geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, and paleontology. It indexes over 3,500 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations, maps, and conference proceedings. GeoRef in Process records are also indexed. GeoRef includes the content of the print indexes Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. Updated biweekly.
Coverage: 1785+ for North America and 1933+ for the rest of the world.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Remote Access: Available
GeoRef Preview Database
This database contains new, unedited references that are being prepared for addition to the GeoRef database, one of the premier geological literature databases. A keyword search can be performed on all fields at once, or you may choose to search directly on titles, authors, dates, or source information. There are no abstracts. Once a record has been added to GeoRef, the record is purged from this database. Updated weekly.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Remote Access: Available
GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute. They have worked together to develop an electronic resource that is unprecedented in the geosciences. The full text of over 30 geology and paleontology journals are available. They also provide access to the GeoRef database.
Alt Title: GSW
Coverage: Varies by title
Locations: UM
Journal Coverage List: http://www.geoscienceworld.org/lists/allsites.dtl
Remote Access: Available
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform for full-text journals, e-books, and references from the publisher Elsevier, some of which are accessible through library subscriptions or purchases. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to the Freedom Collection (see list at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/journal-title-lists) of more than 1,800 journals on science, technology, medicine, and other topics, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. In addition, individual campuses may subscribe to selected journals outside of the Freedom Collection, or may have purchased selected e-books; these selections have been cataloged and linked in URSUS.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, LAW
Remote Access: Available

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists- Publications Index
A searchable index of publications from the following: the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the European Association of Exploration Geophysicists, the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists and the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists. Coverage from 1936-present.

Water Resources Abstracts
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Pro Tip: How to access articles

There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:

Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.

Using Databases to Find Books & Articles

How to Search Using OneSearch
OneSearch is an online discovery tool through which you can search for books, some articles, and some of the other materials available through Fogler Library and URSUS libraries.
How to Search Using the URSUS Catalog
The URSUS catalog contains items from all campuses in the University of Maine system, the Maine State Library, the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library, and the Bangor Public Library.
How to Do Database Searches
Use strategies to help you look for articles in an electronic database.
How to Access Articles Using Article Linker
Access articles within databases using the tool "Article Linker" or "360 Link to Full Text".
How to Use the Thesaurus in Online Databases
What is a database thesaurus and how do you use it?
How to Access Research Materials Using Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar through the registered Fogler Library link for more full text content.