Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Molecular & Biomedical Sciences: Crystallography

Welcome

A big part of studying molecular structures is viewing them. The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) maintains and curates the Cambridge Structural Database, where you can find data on and visualizations of crystal structures as well as active molecules like proteins.

As a UMaine affiliate you can use the web-version of the Cambridge Structural Database anytime, or you can download the Cambridge Structural Database package on your device for full use of the tools available. Contact Lindsay Decker for the activation keys and other information required to download.

This page is intended to provide information and easy access to the Cambridge Structural Database, but please see our Additional Crystal Data Sources page for other available tools.

Important Updates

The most recent version of Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is:

2021.1 released July 2021

Once you've downloaded CSD you can update as new releases come out. See the below link or contact Lindsay Decker for update instructions.

Documentation & Support for the Cambridge Structural Database

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) itself is a collection of small molecule crystal structures contributed to by scientists all over the world. There are a number of tools you can access when you download the CSD package through UMaine that can provide further analysis and create 3-D visualizations of these structures. This is a list of the programs you can download onto your device, what they do, and links to more information about them:

The following is a list of additional resources from the CCDC. These are either accessible online or need to be downloaded onto your device. Contact Lindsay Decker if you have any questions.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Lindsay Decker
she/her
Contact:
Reference Services
Fogler Library
University of Maine
207-581-1679

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.