It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is where you can access your Interlibrary Loan (or ILLiad) account and learn how to use it to access materials outside Fogler Library's collection.
How to do Database Searches
Found a database but not sure how best to search it? This tutorial will show you strategies that will help you look for articles in an electronic database.
Find Articles—Recommended Databases
These databases are great resources if you're doing research in Molecular & Biomedical Sciences. You'll find journal articles that you can cite in your papers by searching your topic and related keywords. If you need an introduction to using a database contact your subject specialist, Lindsay Decker or check out the tutorials to the left.
If you haven't decided on a topic yet, try looking at the resources in the Background Information tab of this guide.
Citations to articles & other materials on medicine, nursing, biosciences, other health fields. Includes non-English citations. See MEDLINE Database Guide for search tips. Can search jointly with other EBSCO databases.
Citations to articles & other materials on medicine, nursing, biosciences, other health fields. Includes non-English citations. Use this link or use customized Fogler Library tools for greatest access to full text.
Citations to articles & other materials on chemistry, molecular biology, biological chemistry, chemical biology. Includes non-English citations. Access, search tips, & registration available at link above.
Search AlphaFold by protein name, gene name, UniProt identifier, or organism name for AI generated predictions of the protein's structure. Your results will include a 3-D visualization of the structure.
You can download the structure from AlphaFold as a PDB file and open it in Hermes.
Included in the Cambridge Structural Database suite available to UMaine students is Hermes, a tool for protein 3-D visualization and editing, and GOLD for protein-ligand docking.
Protein structures downloaded from AlphaFold as PDB files can be opened in Hermes.