CHY 298: Introduction to Chemistry Research and the Chemistry Profession

Start by knowing where to start your search! Here are the recommended databases for this class:

• Break your topic down into key words and phrases (no more than three words long)
• Look for words that relate to your topic: effected populations and settings or variations. If you're not familiar with your topic, try a simple Google Search before diving into the databases. Write down keywords as you search that you can use to find more reputable sources in the databases.
• Write out synonyms or related terms: pulp as well as paper
• Try alternative spelling: sulphur as well as sulfur
• Truncate (use a wildcard) to get variations on a word: environm* to find environment, environments, environmental...

Searching in databases means organizing your keywords with Boolean operators: AND, OR, and NOT

Use AND for more specific results bleaching AND pulp

Use OR to broaden a search with related terms pulp OR paper

Mix and match: (pulp OR paper) AND bleach*

Image credit: "Logic Gates.svg" by HereToHelp, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0, is available via Wikimedia Commons. Nancy R. Curtis cropped images from original graphic, and modified colors to accommodate color vision disabilities.

Put quotation marks around a phrase to indicate those words should not be separated in your search results:

"Atomic force microscopy"

Use an * to indicate that you'll accept multiple endings to a search term:

Poison* would get your results with Poisonous, Poisons, Poisoning, etc...

• Consult "Help" screens or database search guides
• Keep track of your searches:
  • In case you need to recreate your search and so you don't do the same search twice!
  • Save search strategies within the database
  • Make a search log--list databases & search terms used
• Choose "Advanced" search options 
• Organize your results to avoid duplicates
  • Use citation management software
  • Organize a list or folder

Know the parameters of your assignment.

Do your resources need to be peer reviewed?

Is there a date range you need to stay within?

Check the database you're searching for the filters they provide to improve your search.

• Set the search to Author (AU)
• Search last name first with the first and middle initial (Decker LJ)
• Try the full name if you have it, again last name first
• There may be records with different variations of the same name (ie different spellings, first name and last name mixed up)
• Check that the affiliated institutions to be sure you have the right person

Search backwards

• Use references or bibliography
• Available in many databases
• Alternatively, search the journal the cited article was published in - Journal Search

Search forwards (citations to a previously published article)

• Best bets: Google Scholar and Web of Science
• Searches run ONLY within the universe of literature stored by the database you're searching in