Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ALA Copyright Tools
These tools, provided by the American Library Association, present users with more information about copyright protection and fair use.
ARL Code of Best Practices
This code of best practices, adopted by the Association of Research Libraries, provides information about and potential approaches to fair use and copyright.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts
This code of best practices, created by the College Art Association, provides information about and potential approaches to fair use and copyright in the area of visual arts specifically.
Copyright & IP
This website, created by the Association of Research Libraries, provides information about fair use, author rights, copyright legislation, and copyright on an international scale.
Copyright Crash Course
This informational overview, created by the University of Texas, provides a detailed look at different aspects of copyright.
A History of Copyright in the United States
This timeline, prepared by the Association of Research Libraries, provides an overview of American copyright law from before the creation of the United States to 2014.
Resources about the Academic Use of Images
This collection of resources, compiled by professional organization the Visual Resources Association, provides additional information about the academic use of images.
United States Copyright Office
The United States Copyright Office is in charge of registering copyright, administering certain statutory licenses, and providing basic copyright information services to the public.
USPTO's Copyright Policy Page
This page, created and maintained by the United States Patent and Trademark Office, contains information about copyright policy and copyright news.
University of Maine Policies and Resources
News and Blogs
This is a search for all the copyright-related news stories from the Chronicle of Higher Education.
IO: In the Open
Created by a network of lawyers and librarians, In the Open is a blog discussing current copyright issues in relationship to open access and scholarly communications, as well as broader academic issues.
Scholarly Communications @ Duke
This blog, written by members of Duke's Office of Copyright and Scholarly Communication, deals with news and legal analysis involving copyright and scholarly publishing issues.
5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673