Skip to main content
Banner Image

Darling Marine Center Information Resources: Available Services

Raymond H. Fogler Library Services and Resources

Reference and Information Literacy

Anne Marie Engelsen is the Science Reference Librarian assigned to the School of Marine Sciences. She will provide tailored reference and research help for faculty, staff, and students.

In addition to research instruction and consultations, Anne Marie has created an online guide curated for the Darling Marine Center (http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/dmc). The guide highlights resources, services, and materials relevant to research and courses at the DMC. Anne Marie also maintains a guide for the School of Marine Sciences (http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/sms), as well as several subject guides that appear with other Marine Sciences guides. Those include:

  • Hot Topics: Plastics & the Environment - http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/plastics_and_environment
  • Hot Topics: Sustainable Food Systems - http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/sustainable_food_guide
  • Research Data Management - http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/datamanagement

At faculty request, Anne Marie can also create course guides to help students access resources related to specific courses or sections.

Anne Marie sends a newsletter to the faculty and students at the DMC every two weeks. Fogler Library staff also send a weekly newsletter to faculty during the academic year.

DMC faculty, students, and staff can contact Anne Marie directly at 581-1678 or anne.engelsen@maine.edu.

 

Collections

Fogler Library provides many e-resources that are available 24/7. DMC faculty, students, and staff can access these resources from anywhere in the world using UMaine’s single sign-on:

  • E-serials: 142,082
  • E-books: 1,060,758
  • Research databases: 364

Fogler Library also provides:

  • 3.6 million volumes  (count includes print monographs; print serial volumes; and 2.4 million government documents in all formats)
  • 1.6 million microforms  (count excludes government document microforms)
  • 208,406 media (16,676 physical format e.g. DVDs, CDs; 191,730 streaming music, audiobooks, film & video)
  • 57,000 items in the Digital Commons and a section for the School of Marine Sciences: https://digitalcommons.library.umaine.edu/sms/

 

Access to Resources for Darling Marine Center patrons and from the collection at DMC

The Darling Marine Center books are available for lending to DMC, UMaine, and UMaine Machias patrons.

DMC patrons may borrow from any library in the URSUS database (https://ursus.maine.edu/help#request) and from MaineCat (http://www.maineinfonet.org/mainecat/about/#borrow).  DMC patrons can directly request these items, and the materials will be delivered to their office address at DMC via UPS.

DMC patrons may also borrow materials from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Fogler Library staff have created a guide (http://libguides.library.umaine.edu/Interlibraryloan) that provides the link to ILLiad and explains the process for requesting items through Interlibrary Loan.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.