American Indians in Children's LiteraturePosts articles and analyses about the portrayal of indigenous people in children's and young adult literature. Authored by Debbie Reese, a Nambe Pueblo scholar.
In Their MoccasinsA game with quizzes and narrative branching (choose your own adventure style) elements designed to build capacity for empathy for Indigenous students’ lived realities. This game, designed by Indigenous students, will be a helpful tool for educators and folx looking to build their Indigenous knowledges skill set.
Penobscot Nation Curriculum (Penobscot Nation)The Penobscot Nation Cultural and Historic Preservation Department, along with select tribal members, and knowledgeable Maine teachers worked collaboratively to design this culturally appropriate, teacher-friendly curriculum.
Removing our Blinders Project: Decolonizing Pedagogy Resources (Penobscot Nation & University of Maine collaboration)This Decolonizing Pedagogy Resource list was put together to support a partnership between the Penobscot Nation’s Water Resources Program (Jan Paul and Angie Reed) and the Department of Communication’s Environmental Communication Community of Practice (Bridie McGreavy and Tyler Quiring). Included are books and articles that focus on decolonizing and critical pedagogy, critical race theory, and indigenous studies; popular and digital media such as news articles, videos, and podcasts; websites and related online resources; links and information about maps, language, and place names; and other items that are specific to the course and Wabanaki histories.
Wabanaki Collection (Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre, University of New Brunswick)From the University of New Brunswick’s Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre. "The Wabanaki Collection connects postsecondary educators, grade school teachers, and the general public with a variety of resources that support enhanced relationships between all the peoples of Eastern Canada and Northeastern United States. The project is named for the first peoples of this territory—Wabanaki or People of the Dawn—which include Mi’kmaq, Wolastoqiyik, Abenaki, Penobscot and Passamaquoddy. All content found in this collection will relate to Wabanaki worldviews, including history, culture, language and education."
Wabanaki Relations Digital Exhibit (Maine State Archives)Includes the 1818 Treaty Between Massachusetts and the Penobscot, an 1821 petition from John Neptune and the other Chiefs of the Penobscot Tribe that requests that the Maine Legislature pass a law to prevent the destruction of fish in the Penobscot River, and other primary documents.
New as of June 2024! LibrarySearch is the new library catalog for the University of Maine System, replacing the URSUS catalog. You can search for books, journals, articles, course reserves, and more.
Mainecat is a library catalog for libraries across the state of Maine. If MaineCat has a book you're looking for, you can request that it be delivered to Fogler Library. Note: MaineCat borrowing will resume September 2024.
If LibrarySearch and MaineCat don't have the book you're looking for, you may request it through InterLibrary Loan, and the ILL staff will work to arrange delivery of your book to Fogler.
This link will take you to a page where you can either browse the list of electronic journals available at Fogler alphabetically or search for a particular journal in the search box atop the page.
The Download Library provides downloadable e-books and audiobooks to patrons of member libraries, including patrons of Fogler Library. Most materials here tend to be on the popular side. You will need to download an app to your tablet/phone/computer to use this resource; you can find instructions at this link as well.
Provides electronic materials free of charge to all Maine residents. You will have to log in using your last name and library card barcode. Materials here tend to be either journal articles or encyclopedia entries.
