Subject Guides: Human Dimensions of Climate Change 2025: Home

Human Dimensions of Climate Change Film Series Resources

The Human Dimensions in Climate Change series is an ongoing series of films highlighting climate and its relationship to and interaction with human beings. Below you will find information on this the HDCC schedule of films for 2025, as well as a selection of climate-themed indexes and databases currently available to University of Maine students, faculty and staff.

2025 Human Dimensions of Climate Change Film Series films

The University of Maine’s 12th Annual Human Dimensions of Climate Change Film Series will kick off in April with five films focused on Water Keepers’ efforts to protect water and the climate.

This year the film series will be part of a larger interactive program called “From Pollution to Protection: Water, History, & Indigenous Treaty Rights” which features an interactive exhibit, an opening keynote, and the film series. This program is generously funded by the Alton ’38 and Adelaide Hamm Campus Activity Fund.

All films will be screened in the Black Box Theatre and are FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

April 1, 6pm: The Penobscot: Ancestral River, Contested Territory
April 2, 6pm: Keepers of the Tundra

April 3, 6pm: This River is Our Relative
April 7th, 6pm: Necessity: Oil, Water, and Climate Resistance
April 14th, 6pm: Bad River: A Story of Defiance

Indexes and Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
GeoRef
Established and maintained by the American Geosciences Institute. Searching is by author, title, subject, and abstract keyword. Over 3,500 serial titles are scanned for inclusion. 1785-present.
GeoRef Preview Database
Made available through the American Geosciences Institute, this database allows users to preview records before they are input into the GeoRef database. It is updated weekly with records in various forms of completeness. Completed records are added to the GeoRef database.
GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute. They have worked together to develop an electronic resource that is unprecedented in the geosciences. The full text of over 30 geology and paleontology journals are available. They also provide access to the GeoRef database.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists- Publications Index
A searchable index of publications from the following: the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the European Association of Exploration Geophysicists, the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists and the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists. Coverage from 1936-present.

Water Resources Abstracts
Index to international scientific literature on all aspects of water resources issues. Includes abstracts of journal articles (see serials source list), monographs, technical reports, books, and conference proceedings. Searchable by author and title, abstract, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1967. Updated quarterly.
Web of Science
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research. A comprehensive tool for prospective citation searching (finding journal articles citing a known source). Includes citations to articles on science, technology, engineering, and other multidisciplinary subjects.