KPE 425: Health Promotion and Disease Prevention (McNulty)

Publishes research about health promotion and disease prevention, primarily related to the United States. Requires login with UMaine account.

Provides access to CDC documents about various diseases and disease prevention. Requires login with UMaine account.

Publishes articles related to the promotion of healthy behaviors and the prevention of illness. Requires login with UMaine account.

Deals with health education and promotion of healthy behaviors around the world. Requires login with UMaine account.

The CDC is a United States federal agency that deals with protecting public health and safety by preventing and controlling disease. CDC data about disease and illness are made available here.

The Mayo Clinic is a medical treatment and research facility that provides health and health research information.

The United States Census Bureau provides access to demographic information about the United States.

The NIH is a United States federal agency that focuses on biomedical and health-related research and provides access to health information.

To find the government website for an individual state, select that state from the dropdown list and click "Go." Then click on the state's official name to visit its state government website.

Systematic reviews assessing healthcare interventions: medications, surgery, education, etc. Supports evidence-based practice.

Indexes journals containing material dealing with clinical and administrative medicine. Requires login with UMaine account.

U.S. National Library of Medicine; affiliated with the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Covers medical and some life science journals. Compiles citations; some citation sources may need to be accessed from a UMaine account.

Indexes and provides access to articles involving politics and public policy. Requires login with UMaine account.

Contains journals about many aspects of physical education including coaching, sports medicine, and kinesiology. Requires login with UMaine account.

Provides access to education and education-related literature. Requires login with UMaine account.

Provides access to education-related literature. Requires login with UMaine account.

Provides access to a digital library containing journals, books, and primary sources in the arts, sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Requires login with UMaine account.