Skip to Main Content
Fogler Library
Subject Guides
LGBTQ+ Resources
Books and Documents at U Maine
Search this Guide
Search
LGBTQ+ Resources: Books and Documents at U Maine
Books and Documents at U Maine
Videos and other Media
Articles and Primary Sources
More Resources on the Web
LGBTQ+ History
The End of Straight Supremacy : Realizing Gay Liberation
by
Shannon Gilreath
Exploring Gender Diversity in the Ancient World
by
Allison Surtees (Editor); Jennifer Dyer (Editor)
A Few Good Gays: The Gendered Compromises behind Military Inclusion
by
Cati Connell
The Gay Revolution : The Story of the Struggle
by
Lillian Faderman
Gender and Sexuality in Indigenous North America, 1400-1850
by
Sandra Slater (Editor); Fay A. Yarbrough (Editor)
Has the Gay Movement Failed?
by
Martin Duberman
Hoover's War on Gays : Exposing the FBI's "Sex Deviates" Program
by
Douglas M. Charles
If Memory Serves : Gay Men, AIDS, and the Promise of the Queer Past
by
Christopher Castiglia; Christopher Reed
In a New Century : Essays on Queer History, Politics, and Community Life
by
John D'Emilio
Love's Next Meeting : The Forgotten History of Homosexuality and the Left in American Culture
by
Aaron Lecklider
The Path to Gay Rights
by
Jeremiah J. Garretson
Private Practices : Harry Stack Sullivan, the Science of Homosexuality, and American Liberalism
by
Naoko Wake
The Rest of It : Hustlers, Cocaine, Depression, and Then Some, 1976-1988
by
Martin Duberman
The Stonewall Reader
by
New York Public Library (Editor); Jason Baumann (Editor)
The Story of Sexual Identity : Narrative Perspectives on the Gay and Lesbian Life Course
by
Phillip L. Hammack; Bertram J. Cohler
The Straight State : Sexuality and Citizenship in Twentieth Century America
by
Margot Canaday
Sweet Tea : Black Gay Men of the South
by
E. Patrick Johnson
Transgender History : The Roots of Today's Revolution
by
Susan Stryker
Trans Historical : Gender Plurality Before the Modern
by
Greta LaFleur (Editor); Masha Raskolnikov (Editor); Anna Klosowska (Editor)
When We Rise : My Life in the Movement
by
Cleve Jones
Politics
Awakening : How Gays and Lesbians Brought Marriage Equality to America
by
Nathaniel Frank
Beyond the Politics of the Closet
by
Jonathan Bell (Editor)
The Children of Harvey Milk : How LGBTQ Politicians Changed the World
by
Andrew Reynolds
Law and the Gay Rights Story : The Long Search for Equal Justice in a Divided Democracy
by
Walter Frank
Out and Running : Gay and Lesbian Politicians, Elections, and Policy Representation
by
Donald P. Haider-Markel
Redoing Gender : how nonbinary gender contributes toward social change
by
Helana Darwin
Transgender Rights : From Obama to Trump
by
Susan Gluck Mezey
Transforming Citizenships : Transgender Articulations of the Law
by
Isaac West
Art and Culture
All the Rage : a partial memoir in two acts and a prologue
by
Brad Fraser
Art and Homosexuality : A History of Ideas
by
Christopher Reed
The Brokeback Book : From Story to Cultural Phenomenon
by
William R. Handley (Editor)
Butch Queens up in Pumps : Gender, Performance, and Ballroom Culture in Detroit
by
Marlon M. Bailey
David Bowie Made Me Gay : 100 Years of LGBT Music
by
Darryl W. Bullock
Fat Gay Men : Girth, Mirth, and the Politics of Stigma
by
Jason Whitesel
Fifty Years of Queer Cinema
by
Darwin Porter; Danforth Prince
Gothic Queer Culture : Marginalized Communities and the Ghosts of Insidious Trauma
by
Laura Westengard
Homintern : How Gay Culture Liberated the Modern World
by
Gregory Woods
Lesbian Cinema after Queer Theory
by
Clara Bradbury-Rance
LGBT Athletes in the Sports Media
by
Rory Magrath (Editor)
The LGBTQ+ Comics Studies Reader
by
Alison Halsall (Editor); Jonathan Warren (Editor)
The Life and Afterlife of Gay Neighborhoods
by
Alex Bitterman, Daniel Daldwin Hess (Editors)
The Palgrave Handbook of Queer and Trans Feminisms in Contemporary Performance
by
Tiina Rosenberg (Editor); Sandra D'Urso (Editor); Anna Renée Winget (Editor)
The Queer Games Avant-Garde : How LBGTQ Game Makers are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games
by
Bo Ruberg
Seduced and Abandoned : Essays on Gay Men and Popular Music
by
Richard Smith
Trans Exploits : Trans of Color Cultures and Technologies in Movement
by
Jian Neo Chen
The Transformative Potential of LGBTQ+ Children's Picture Books
by
Jennifer Miller
Theory
After Queer Theory : The Limits of Sexual Politics
by
James Penney
Bi : Notes for a Bisexual Revolution
by
Shiri Eisner
Bisexuality : Theories, Research, and Recommendations for the Invisible Sexuality
by
D. Joye Swan (Editor); Shani Habibi (Editor)
Black Trans Feminism
by
Marquis Bey
No Tea, No Shade
by
E. Patrick Johnson (Editor)
Poor Queer Studies : Confronting Elitism in the University
by
Matt Brim
Queering the Countryside : New Frontiers in Rural Queer Studies
by
Mary L. Gray (Editor); Colin R. Johnson (Editor); Brian J. Gilley (Editor)
There's a Disco Ball Between Us : A Theory of Black Gay Life
by
Jafari S. Allen
Latinx Queer Psychology : contributions to the study of LGBTIQ+, sexual and gender diversity issues
by
Reynel Alexander Chaparro (Editor); Marco Aurélio Máximo Prado (Editor)
Special Collections
The Maine Campus, "
Wilde-Stein Club receives student senate approva
l" (1974).
Tips on Having a Gay (Ex) Boyfriend
by
Carrie Jones
Out and Allied : An Anthology of Performance Pieces by LGBTQ Youth and Allies
edited by Cathy Plourde and others
Gay and Lesbian Human Rights : An Exploration of Attitudes on a Northeastern College Campus
by Sarah B. Paterson
Constructing the Experiences of Gay and Lesbian High School Students in Maine
by Paul D. Knowles
Collections :
Social Justice : Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection
Reference
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
by
Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
by
Howard Chiang, editor in chief
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide
by
Chuck Stewart (Editor)
LGBT Youth Issues Today
by
David E. Newton
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts
by
Claude J. Summers (Editor)
Same-Sex Marriage : A Reference Handbook
by
David E. Newton
Books for Kids and Teens
George
by
Alex Gino
Gracefully Grayson
by
Ami Polonsky
How It Feels to Have a Gay or Lesbian Parent
by
Judith E. Snow
Introducing Teddy : A Gentle Story About Gender and Friendship
by
Jessica Walton; Dougal MacPherson (Illustrator)
Julián Is a Mermaid
by
Jessica Love
None of the Above
by
I. W. Gregorio
Queer, There, and Everywhere : 23 People Who Changed the World
by
Sarah Prager; Zoe More O'Ferrall (Illustrator)
Stonewall: Breaking Out in the Fight for Gay Rights
by
Ann Bausum
Symptoms of Being Human
by
Jeff Garvin
This Book Is Gay
by
Juno Dawson; David Levithan (Introduction by)
What If It's Us
by
Becky Albertalli; Adam Silvera
Next:
Videos and other Media >>
Chat with a Librarian
+
Chat is offline.
Contact the library
.
