Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Library Research 101: How to Get Started

Glossary: Library terms

Glossary--a list of defined terms

Academic integrity--following ethical guidelines in the work you do for your classes (for instance, citing a book you used to write a paper so people know where the information you're sharing is coming from).

Article--a work of nonfiction writing found in a periodical or anthology.

Bibliography--a list of all the works you've used in your paper, generally appearing at the end.  Both in-text citation and bibliographies are necessary in most papers.  May also be called a reference list or a works cited page.

Book--a published individual work about a topic. 

Citation--a way of giving written credit to others whose writing and/or ideas you have used in your own research.

Concept map--a visual representation of concepts/ideas and the relationships between them.  (See "How do I write a research question?" for a visual example.)

Databases--searchable websites that collect articles from many different periodicals.

In-text citation--giving written credit within the text of your paper to someone whose writing and/or ideas you have used.  Both in-text citation and reference lists (or bibliographies) are necessary in most papers.

ISBN Number - an International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is assigned to identify a particular book title/version.

Journal--a periodical that publishes articles about academic research.

Library catalog--a searchable database listing the individual materials (books, periodicals, databases, etc.) accessible by a library.

Library stacks--the shelves in a library where printed materials (books, bound periodicals) are stored.

Paywall - when you search on the open web, find an information source, but cannot access it without paying money.

Peer-reviewed article--a scholarly article that has been reviewed by a committee of experts before publication.

Periodical--a work published as a series of issues on a certain schedule.  Newspapers, scholarly journals, and magazines are all periodicals.

Plagiarism--using someone else's writing or ideas without giving them credit, whether on purpose or accidentally.

Popular article--an article written for general readers (in other words, readers not expected to have particular academic or professional backgrounds).

Reference list--a list of all the works you've used in your paper, generally appearing at the end.  Both in-text citation and reference lists are necessary in most papers.  May also be called a bibliography or a works cited page.

Research question--a question you ask about your research topic that directs your research.  Academic papers answer, or try to answer, research questions.

Scholarly article--an article written by and for an academic audience (faculty, students, etc.), most often involving research of some kind.

Thesis statement--a statement that answers your research question and is the central point of your academic paper.

Topic--the issue or idea your paper is about.

Trade article--an article written by someone working in a particular field (boatbuilding, publishing, etc.) for readers who also work in that field.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.