UMaine Machias students have access to unique research opportunities through the Marine Science Field Station, a 16-acre facility on Great Wass Island, 25 miles from campus. The site includes a marine laboratory, shellfish hatchery, and education center, offering hands-on learning in one of Maine’s most biodiverse coastal zones.
Students can:
Learn more:
UMaine Library Resources:
Search Tips: Mastering Boolean Searches and More
This guide provides essential strategies for effective searching, including how to use Boolean operators like AND, OR, and NOT to refine your results. Learn tips for creating precise search queries, filtering results, and maximizing the power of search engines and library databases. Whether you're conducting academic research or just trying to find the right information, these tips will help you search smarter and save time.
How to Use Various Search Methods for Better Results
Boolean Operators
Boolean operators allow you to combine keywords in specific ways to refine your search. Here’s how they work:
Example: climate change AND renewable energy
Result: Only articles containing both terms will appear.
OR: Use this to broaden your search by including results that have any of the listed keywords.
Example: global warming OR climate change
Result: Articles with either term will be shown.
NOT: Use this to exclude specific keywords from your results.
Example: renewable energy NOT solar
Result: Articles about renewable energy but excluding solar energy will appear.
Parentheses: Combine operators with parentheses for complex searches.
Example: (climate change OR global warming) AND policy
Result: Articles about either climate change or global warming that also mention policy.
Quotation Marks
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase.
Example: "climate change policy"
Result: Results will include the exact phrase rather than articles with the words scattered throughout.
Truncation
Use an asterisk (*) to include multiple variations of a word root.
Example: educat*
Result: Returns results for educate, education, educator, etc.
Advanced Search Filters
Most search engines and databases offer filters to narrow down your results. Here’s how to use them effectively:
Date Range: Focus on recent publications or a specific time period.
Type of Resource: Limit results to journal articles, books, or other formats.
Subject Terms: Use predefined categories or keywords.
Language: Narrow results to sources in a specific language.
Field-Specific Searches
Target specific parts of a document, such as the title or author field:
title:"climate change"
author:"Jane Doe"
Combining Synonyms and Related Terms
Think of alternative ways your topic might be described.
Example: (teenagers OR adolescents) AND mental health
Result: Captures articles that use either term for teenagers.
Search by Domain or Site (for web searches)
Limit searches to specific domains or sites:
Example: climate change site:.edu
Result: Only results from .edu domains will appear.
Use Database-Specific Features
Each database may have unique tools or commands, like subject headings, proximity operators, or citation tracking. Explore the database’s help section for advanced tips.
By combining these methods, you can refine your search process, save time, and find the most relevant information. Happy searching!
Use this guide to:
For further research help, click the “Chat with a Librarian” button on the Merrill Library homepage, visit Merrill Library, or email us at ummlibrary@maine.edu.
Marine ecology examines how organisms interact within ocean environments. Topics include predator-prey dynamics, nutrient cycles, and habitat studies.
Recommended Resources:
Recommended Resources:
Understanding Ocean Systems
Oceanography covers the physical and chemical processes of the marine environment, including currents, salinity, and deep-sea systems.
Recommended Resources:
Recommended Resources:
UMaine Machias students have access to unique research opportunities through the Marine Science Field Station, a 16-acre facility on Great Wass Island, 25 miles from campus. The site includes a marine laboratory, shellfish hatchery, and education center, offering hands-on learning in one of Maine’s most biodiverse coastal zones.
Students can:
Learn more:
UMaine Library Resources:
