MBSTL Health Care: Home

Find definitions of medical terms organized alphabetically.

Short encyclopedia entries covering a wide range of medical terms organized alphabetically.

Guide for prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

Current global infectious & environmental disease threats.

National Institutes of Health (NIH) information on diseases, conditions, drugs, supplements & wellness.

A manual for medical conditions and terms.

A guide for what to do after diagnosis, in treatment, how to make the most of your doctor's appointments and more.

Information about cancer basics, diagnosis, and treatments

The Dempsey Center provides a variety of support groups for people with cancer.

A list of virtual and in-person support groups offered by the Maine Medical Center in Portland.

Virtual support groups for Mainers with mental illness and for family members of Mainers with mental illness.

These support groups are offered by Maine General in Augusta.

A record of recall by the FDA's updated weekly.

Information on recalls from press releases and other public notices with a helpful search feature.

For dietary supplements, infant formula & other products.

The CDC's preferred method for sharing urgent public health informatin.

Find safety information and report problems.

Services offered by MaineHealth

Offered by the State of Maine, Department of Health and Human Services

Prevention resources compiled by Maine CDC

211 Maine is a collaborative effort of the United Ways of Maine, the State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services, and The Opportunity Alliance as the Contact Center Partner.

A non-profit nonprofit voluntary health organization that focuses on Alzheimer's disease care, support and research.

A nationwide non-profit organization dedicated to eliminating cancer.

A non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public about diabetes and supporting those affected by the disease.

A not-for-money group in the United States. Their mission is to help discover research about heart disease and stroke. The association promotes healthy living to bring awareness for heart disease, as well as for stroke and heart attack, in the hope to stop it. It is the oldest heart health group in the United States.

A nonprofit advocacy organization run by and for autistic individuals that advocates for the inclusion of autistic people in decisions that affect them, including: legislation, depiction in the media, and disability services.

A non-profit foundation that provides information about cystic fibrosis and finances CF research that aims to improve the quality of life for people with the disease.

A non-profit dedicated to fighting blood cancer world-wide. LLS funds blood cancer research on cures for leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin's disease, and myeloma.

A nonprofit organization that provides support for people affected by cancer.

A non-profit national advocacy organization founded in 1979 for people affected by serious mental illnesses and their families.

A non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public and medical community about infectious diseases.

NKF is the most comprehensive and longstanding patient-centric organization dedicated to the awareness, preventions and treatments of kidney disease in the United States.

A non-profit that provides resources, support services, advocacy efforts, and educational programs to improve the lives of people with MS and their families.

A not-for-profit organization focused on ovarian cancer research, advocacy and patient support

A charity that funds research, provides patient/caregiver support, conducts community outreach and advocates for increased federal research funding for those affected by pancreatic cancer.

A national organization that funds research and provides educational resources to Parkinson's disease patients and caregivers.

A non-profit that works on patient navigation and advocacy, providing resources for breast-cancer patients to understand the American medical system.

Information on cultural beliefs & medical issues pertinent to immigrant health care.

Standardized graphics supporting medication instructions, precautions, or warnings. Download under free license agreement.

Translation and interpretation services.

Search magazines & scholarly journals. General coverage.

Full text access to over 1000 U.S. and international newspapers.

Search scholarly journals for articles on nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Search scholarly journals for articles on health care & clinical sciences.