MBSTL Business - Running a Business - Managing Human Resources: Home

Information Portal

• Maine Department of Labor - for Employers
• Employment Benefit Research Institute
• Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM)
• HR 360
• HR.com

General Resources on HR Strategy Planning

• Human Resources (SBA)
• Employment Law & HR 2016 Update for Small Business (NFIB webinar)
• Hiring and Firing: What Every Small Business Needs to Know (NFIB Webinar)
• 7 Questions Every Small Business That Hires Employees Will Have to Answer (SCORE Webinar)
• 8 Urgent HR Tips for Growing Businesses - Part I (SCORE Webinar)
• 8 Urgent HR Tips for Growing Businesses - Part II (SCORE Webinar)
• Top 10 HR Issues: How to Avoid Common Pitfalls (SCORE Webinar)
• Building a Team That Can Build a Successful Business (SCORE Webinar)
• Hiring Superstar Employees for Your Small Business (Kabbage Webinar)

Work Design/Classification

• Occupational Outlook Handbook – Earnings, working conditions and forecast for occupations.
• O*NET

HR Regulations and Compliance

• Laws Governing Workplace Rights (Maine DOL Training)
  This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave, and domestic violence) and break requirements. Also, addresses commonly asked labor related questions.
• Maine Employee Rights Guide (including wages and hours)(Maine DOL)
• Summary of Maine Employment Laws (Maine DOL)
• Maine Department of Labor – Labor Law (Maine DOL)
• A Maine Guide to Employment Law (Bureau of Labor Education, University of Maine)
• Maine Employment Law (Lawforchange.org)
• Staying Afloat in the Sea of Employment Regulations (SCORE eGuide)
• The Impact of Newly Passed Overtime Regulations on Small Businesses (SCORE Webinar)

Hiring/ Recruiting

• Small Business Employee Recruitment and Retention (SBA Webinar)
• Attract, Hire and Retain Top Talent for Your Business Advantages (SCORE Webinar)
• Streamlining Your Recruiting and Applicant Tracking (SCORE Webinar)
• Hiring the Right Employee (SCORE Webinar)
• New Rules of Personal Productivity (SCORE Webinar)
• eGuide to Small Business Hiring (SCORE eGuide)

Resources for advertising your job opening and find an employee:

• Maine JobLink: List your job opportunities at no charge and get matched with job seekers in your area.
• CareerCenters:Use CareerCenters as a hiring resource, including space to recruit, interview and train new hires
• Job Fairs: Meet with hundreds of prospective employees throughout the state.

Insurance

• Employee Benefits Security Administration (DOL) Compliance Assistance (DOL)
• The Ultimate Guide to Health Insurance and Taxes (SCORE eGuide)
• Everything You Need to Know About Small Business Insurance (SCORE Webinar)
• Employer's Guide to Unemployment Insurance Tax in Maine (Nolo)
• Understanding the Affordable Care Act & the Impact it Will Have on Your Business (SCORE Webinar)

Salary and Benefit & Payrolls

• Health Benefits Done Right: Health Insurance and the Role of Payroll (SCORE Webinar)
• Small Business Retirement Plans: Protect Your Money and Your Future (SCORE Webinar)
• Save Money and Time with Payroll Cards (SCORE Webinar)
• How to Avoid 10 Payroll Mistakes That Cost Businesses Money (SCORE Webinar)

Resources for find wage statistics and estimates:

• Maine Employment & Wages by Industry (Maine Department of Labor)
• Maine Occupational Employment & Wage Estimates  (Maine Department of Labor)
• Labor Market Analysis (Maine Department of Labor)

Employee support

• New Employee Orientation Guide and Checklist
• Welcome ME Quality Service Training (University of Maine)

Human Resources Software

• Human Resources Management System (HRMS) Vendors Guide  (HRMS World)

Maine Community College System 

Maine's community college system offers affordable customized training and continuing education that gives businesses and employees the skills they need to compete. Maine Quality Centers provides grants to help cover costs of customized training; Put ME to Work program offers $500,000 in new grant funding to create & enhance training programs across Maine. It covers 50% of the costs to create new training programs or enhance existing ones at Maine’s community colleges.

Coastal Counties Workforce, Inc

Business service representatives provides information on no-cost employee training options, applicant assessment and recruitment services. They working with partner agencies, can assess your workforce training needs and provide eligible employers with workforce development services free of charge.

Make it in America Grant (DOL via Coastal Counties Workforce)

Targeted industries include aerospace/aviation, composites/advanced materials, renewable energy and biotechnology manufacturing. CCWI’s funding will be used to reduce H-1B dependency in the targeted sectors; Eligible businesses are those located in Cumberland, Sagadahoc, Androscoggin, Kennebec and Lincoln counties.

MidCoast TOPS Grant (Coastal Counties Workforce)

Eligible businesses are those identified in the grant which include Resilient Communications, Mölnlycke Health Care, and Kestrel Aircraft as well as additional companies in the midcoast area, provided that these companies meet specific industry and occupational criteria.

 Maine human resources manual 2016 (Maine State Chamber of Commerce)

Libraries in Maine have a good collection of books on business start-ups and entrepreneurship. Search Mainecat, the library collections in Maine, and contact the public library near you to request a book.

Thousands of magazines, newspapers, and reference books are available anywhere in the State of Maine through the online resources of MARVEL! Maine's Virtual Library.
 

Ebook and audiobook collection available for Maine Residence; your public library card is required to download the ebook

Contact Us

Raymond H. Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469
fogler.mbstl@maine.edu
Reference Desk: 207-581-1673