Subject Guides: Mechanical Engineering Technology: Best Bets

Find Articles

ASCE Library
The ASCE Library is an extensive resource for civil engineering research, with full text from ASCE Journals, and hundreds of Conference Proceedings. ASCE Library provides online access to E-books and Standards, encompassing all civil engineering content areas, including construction, structures, transportation, geotechnics, environment, water resources, and civil engineering practice.
ASTM Compass
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

1. On the ASTM Compass homepage, Click on the Subscriptions tab
2. Click on the ASTM logo
3. Click on Journals
4. Select journal title of interest to drill down to desired content Once an individual issue is selected, the page will refresh and it will appear the issue did not open, scroll down to see the contents of the issue.
1. On the ASTM Compass homepage, Click on the Subscriptions tab
2. Click on the ASTM logo
3. Click on Journals
4. Select journal title of interest to drill down to desired content

Once an individual issue is selected, the page will refresh and it will appear the issue did not open, scroll down to see the contents of the issue.
EI Compendex
Ei Compendex provides citations to global engineering literature across 190 engineering disciplines.

OnePetro
The online library of technical literature for the oil and gas industry.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform for full-text journals, e-books, and references from the publisher Elsevier.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Google Scholar (UM)
Coverage undefined, but good to check.
To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text. Contains harder to spot empirical articles.

National Technical Reports Library
NTRL provides indexing to historical and current U.S. government-sponsored technical reports. Subject coverage includes engineering, computer science, transportation, medicine, biology, energy, communications, agriculture, and more.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
A variety of scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
National Transportation Library
Archive of statistical, technical and policy documents provided by federal, state, local and tribal government agencies on surface and water transportation. Special topics include: bridge construction and maintenance, driver studies, highway safety, land utilization, marine engineering, mass transit, merchant marine, navigation, oceanography, pipelines, railroads, ships and shipbuilding, traffic engineering, surveys and forecasts, urban transportation, and waterways.

DOE Data Explorer
A search tool for finding Department of Energy funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations.
Statistical Data Sources Guide
Information on statistics

Tools to help you get past Paywalls and to the full text of an article.

Proxy Bookmarklet
When Fogler Library pays for content this can push you past a paywall.
**If you downloaded this before June 2024, please download again!**
Interlibrary Loan
Can deliver electronic articles we don't subscrtibe to within a day or two.

Technical Standards
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 119 views this year
Patent and Trademark Resource Center
by John Hutchinson Last Updated Jun 13, 2024 1172 views this year
Conference Posters and Presentations
by Christopher Clark Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 566 views this year
Tutorials
by Nancy Lewis Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 726 views this year
Mechanical Engineering
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 298 views this year