Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks to learn about a topic and to find keywords and subject terms to use when searching indexes and databases.
Looking for less specific encyclopedia's, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals or atlases? Use our
Reference Sources resource guide for help. This guide lists both print and electronic resources.
Catalog of Fishes
The Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database. From the California Academy of Sciences.
The Echinoid Directory
Designed and created by Andrew B Smith, Department of Palaeontology, The Natural History Museum.
Encyclopedia of Life
Online directory of all 1.8 million known species on Earth.
Global Distribution of Coral Reefs
A dataset that shows the global distribution of Coral Reefs in tropical and sub-tropical regions, compiled from a number of sources by UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) and the WorldFish Centre, in collaboration with WRI (World Resources Institute) and TNC (The Nature Conservancy).
Gulf of Maine Area (GOMA): Census on Marine Life
The Gulf of Maine Area program is the regional ecosystem project of the global Census of Marine Life, which seeks to explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the ocean.
Ichthyology Primary Types Imagebase
The California Academy of Sciences Department of Ichthyology type collection contains over 37,000 specimens.
Marine Life of the Gulf of Maine
Image gallery and species information. From Andrew J. Martinez Photography.
MBLWHOI Library Digital Herbarium
Flora of Cape Cod, Massachusetts and associated coastal islands with over 2,200 algae specimens. Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System (NEMESIS)
NEMESIS is a resource for information on non-native (or exotic) species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States. From the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Find information about fisheries in the US.
Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center (PO.DAAC)
PODAAC is the premier data center for measurements focused on ocean surface topography (OST), sea surface temperature (SST), ocean winds, sea surface salinity (SSS), gravity, ocean circulation and sea ice. From the NASA Jet Propulsion Lab.
World List of Marine, Freshwater, and Terrestrial Isopod Crustaceans
Originally from the Smithsonian Institute, now hosted by the Flanders Marine Institute and overseen by an editorial board.
WoRMS World Register of Marine Species
The World Register of Marine Species aims to provide the most authoritative list of names of all marine species globally, ever published.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Atlases
5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673