Subject Guides: SVT 100: 100 Introduction to Surveying Technology: Start Here

The Search Process and Where to Find Articles

To search for information, there are two important things to do before you start:

determine what academic disciplines are likely to cover the information you need
determine possible keywords you can use for your search

Here's an example:

Topic - geographic information systems
Academic Disciplines - Business, Computer Science, Ecology, Economics, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Statistics, Urban Planning
Possible Keywords - geological mapping, site analysis, asset management, urban planning, smart cities, transportation planning, land use, demographics, infrastructure management.

Choose tools that cover the academic areas you have identified, to search for journal articles. (Tip: Ask a librarian if you are not sure which databases to use!)

Important Journals for Survey Engineering Technology

Journal of Surveying Engineering
Photogrammetric Engineering & Remote Sensing
Survey Review
v.62 (2002) - present

Current & Historical Journals from the American Association for Geodetic Surveying

Surveying and Land Information Science
Surveying and land information systems
v. 50 (1990) - v. 61 (2001)
1998-2002 available online
1990-1997 in Fogler Periodical Stacks
Surveying and Mapping
v.23 (1963) - v.49 (1989)
Fogler Periodical Stacks

Databases to find articles

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ASCE Library
The ASCE Library is an extensive resource for civil engineering research, with ASCE Journals, and hundreds of Conference Proceedings. ASCE Library provides online access to E-books and Standards.
EI Compendex
Ei Compendex provides citations to global engineering literature, across 190 engineering disciplines.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform for full-text journals, e-books, and references from the publisher Elsevier.
Web of Science
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Google Scholar (UM)
Coverage undefined, but good to check.
To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text. Contains harder to spot empirical articles.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides information on U.S. grantmakers and their grants.

Finding Full Text

Tools to help you get past Paywalls and to the full text of an article.

Proxy Bookmarklet
When Fogler Library pays for content this can push you past a paywall.
Interlibrary Loan
Can deliver electronic articles we don't subscrtibe to within a day or two.

Other Guides of Interest

Survey Engineering Technology
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Aug 21, 2025 286 views this year
Technical Standards
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Aug 20, 2025 110 views this year

SVT 100: 100 Introduction to Surveying Technology

Librarian

Cite your sources