Skip to Main Content
MBSTL Science & Technology - Weather and Climate
Search this Guide
MBSTL Science & Technology - Weather and Climate: Home
Research guide to weather and climate resources for the people of Maine.
Statistics, Data, and Technical Resources
Local Climatological Data by State
A monthly summary from major airport stations that includes daily weather.
National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)
Public information about snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and polar climate interactions.
Northeast USA Recent Marine Data
National Data Buoy Center marine weather data.
A chronological listing, by states, of storm occurrences and unusual weather phenomena.
U.S. Geological Survey. Acid Rain, Atmospheric Deposition, and Precipitation Chemistry
Contains data on 7 active monitoring sites in Maine. Also includes many online reports.
United States Interactive Climate Data (NOAA)
Data related to temperature, precipitation and other variables for cities throughout the United States.
Marine Weather, Canadian Atlantic Ocean waters and Canadian inland lakes [Weather Underground]
Marine Weather, U.S. Atlantic Ocean waters from Maine to New Jersey [Weather Underground]
MEMA: General Weather [Maine Emergency Management Agency]
National Weather Service Forecast Office - Caribou, Maine
National Weather Service Forecast Office - Portland-Gray, Maine
National Weather Service Maine State Information
Weather Calculator: Conversions
Local and Regional Resources
Maine's Climate Future - 2020 Update
Maine - NOAA Office for Coastal Management
Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Maine Environmental Monitoring and Assessment Program Index (MEMAP)
Maine GeoLibrary Data Catalog
New England Environmental Education Alliance
New England Interstate Waper Pollution Control Commission (NEIWPCC)
New England Water Environment Association
New England Water Science Center - USGS
NOAA Tide Predictions, Maine
Northeast River Forecast Center
Senator George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions
US Drought Monitor - Northeast
Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin
WWW Tide amd Current Predictor, U.S Upper East Coast (Maine through Virginia)
Find Current Research
Academic One File
Millions of articles from leading journals and reference sources that cover all academic disciplines.
Covers a broad range of agricultural topics indexed by the National Agricultural Library and co-operating institutions. 1979-present.
Full text for over 400 journals related to environmental issues.
Gateway to U.S. government publications and web sites. Includes 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies.
Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Annotated Dictionary.
Maintained by translators from around the world.
A Comprehensive Glossary of Weather Terms for Storm Spotters
This glossary contains weather-related terms used by local storm spotters.
Glossary of Climate Change Acronyms and Terms
American Meteorological Society
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Weather Association
Union of Concerned Scientists
United Nation Framework Convention on Climate Change
United States Environmental Protection Agency
United Nations Environment Programme
Dec 14, 2022 9:10 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 | (207) 581-1673
Chat with a Librarian
Chat is offline.
Contact the library