Subject Guides: WGS 301/SOC 340: Gender, Race, Sexuality and Mental Health: Home

Finding Books

LibrarySearch
You can search for both books and articles in LibrarySearch, and there are filters, such as peer review for articles, that you can use. Sign in for the most full-text access. Make sure to take a look at our LibrarySearch tutorial to get acquainted with the system.

See the Selected Titles box on this guide for examples of books in our catalog.

You may want to use Advanced Search and search by Subject. Here are some possible Subject Headings:
Gender Identity and Mental Health
A Subject search in LibrarySearch
Women and Psychoanalysis
A Subject search in LibrarySearch

You may also want to try an Advanced Search using a variety of term combinations, i.e. Transgender and Mental Health, putting one term/concept in each of the search boxes

Finding Scholarly Articles

Here are four recommended library databases where you can search curated collections of articles for your research topic. Use the Advanced Search functions to get the most relevant results, and choose peer reviewed, or scholarly journal, articles.

Sociology Collection
Covers the journal literature in Sociology
PsycINFO
Covers the journal literature in Psychology
Women's Studies International
Covers many interdisciplinary journals, and some magazine, in Women's & Gender Studies;
LGBTQ+ Source
Covers many magazines and journals;

Other Helpful Search Tools

Google Scholar
Allows cross-disciplinary searching, but is not comprehensive. To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.

Web of Science
Use the Cited Reference Search tool in this database to find other journal articles that have cited a journal article you have already found since it's publication. (i.e. if you found a 2017 article, you might be able to find more recent articles citing that work).

Selected Books

How To's

Citation Help
Links to citation guides.
How to Access Articles Using the "Find It" Button
Video tutorial on accessing journal articles through database searches.
Interlibrary Loan
Use to get access to journal articles or books unavaible through Fogler Library, Article Linker or Request function. You need to create your free account before you begin.

WGS 301/SOC 340: Gender, Race, Sexuality and Mental Health

Getting Started

Librarian

Finding Books

Finding Scholarly Articles

Other Helpful Search Tools

Selected Books

How To's