It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education: Children's and Young Adult Literature Journals and Databases
Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page (Rutgers): Deals with topics in children's literature an educator might want to consider (for example, multicultural literature, sensitive issues, and fairy tales).
Worlds of Words (University of Arizona): Discusses global children's literature, including booklists, how to evaluate global literature, the Worlds of Words Journal, and more.
The Lion and the Unicorn: Includes scholarly criticism and studies of children's literature as well as book reviews. Requires login with UMaine account.
Children's Literature: Publishes theoretical studies and articles as well as book reviews. Requires login with UMaine account.
Provides information for fiction and nonfiction books meant for children between the ages of 0 and 12; books are indexed by age, genre, subject, books made into movies, Common Core standards, and award winners. Each book record also contains information about lexile score, grade level, character, storyline, and tone, as well as containing reviews from popular book review journals. Requires login with UMaine account.
Provides information for fiction books ONLY. Categorizes novels into four different age ranges: adult, teen, children ages 9-12, and children ages 0-8. Books are indexed by genre, pace, writing style, storyline, tone, subject, location, award winners, and books adapted into movies. Each book record also contains reviews from popular book review journals. Requires login with UMaine account.
Provides information and resources to assist teachers in K-12 reading and library activities. Includes Meet-The-Author movies and book readings, book guides and lesson plans, Common Core literacy connections, Maine booklists, award winners, and more. Requires login with UMaine account.
Go to the advanced search page, click on the Product/Series box, and select only "Children's Literature Review Online" to search for children's book reviews and criticism. Requires login with UMaine account.