An annotated bibliography is a list of sources you have consulted on your topic, with an annotation accompanying each source citation. This annotation can include many things, depending on the specifics of an assignment or need, but generally contains:
You can search for both books and articles in LibrarySearch, and there are filters, such as peer review for articles, that you can use. Once you've entered a search, sign in with your maine.edu credentials for the most access to full text.
Take a look at our LibrarySearch tutorial to get acquainted with this system!
While we can search all Fogler databases at once in LibrarySearch, we might benefit from a more focused, discipline-specific search by using individual databases. Here is a list of databases that might help you find information on your topics.
Google Scholar may also be a possibility, but use it very carefully. We lose the ability to have edited, verified collections with this product. To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.
You can usually grab citations from library databases, choosing the format style you prefer. However, as with all citation generators, there are often mistakes that need to be corrected.
Below is an example of a APA citation from the database Anthropology Plus. While it is mostly correct, we would need to fix the capitalization used for the first word in the article subtitle and add the pages and the DOI:
In evaluating information the concept of Authority generally refers to the author's (or if not an individual author, the organization's) credibility, i.e. why are they qualified to create this particular information.
To help evaluate this:
