Subject Guides: Hot Topics: Ukraine-Russia Crisis: Extending Your Research

Finding Scholarly Articles

Use our databases to find scholarly articles addressing Ukraine, Russia, foreign policy, the USSR, NATO, and the European Union. To learn more about searching for and citing sources, visit our guide Library Research 101: How to Get Started.

Pro Tips:

Check the "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" box to get academic articles
Change the sorting method so the newest articles appear first

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™, as well as other databases from the Search pull-down menu. Databases and the years they cover may vary by subscribing institution. . Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
Coverage:1975 to present
Locations: UM
Journal Coverage List: http://mjl.clarivate.com/
Database Guide: http://clarivate.libguides.com/webofscienceplatform
Remote Access: Available
Historical Abstracts
Index to articles, dissertations, and books on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Works on U.S. and Canadian history are covered in America: History and Life.

Licensed Number of Users: Orono: 6.

Coverage: From 1955
Locations: UM
Journal Coverage List: http://www.ebscohost.com/title-lists
Remote Access: Available
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 full text news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Users can create accounts for a personalized experience, including alerts, saved searches, and bookmarks. Shared workspace is also available for team projects.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, LAW
Remote Access: Available

Social Sciences Citation Index

Security Studies
Full text journal articles, ebooks, and policy reports
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Finding Books and Government Documents

Search the library catalog for books and government documents about Ukraine, Russia, NATO, the European Union, and more. In addition to the books that we've suggested on each page, there are many books in our collection that address the many subtopics and issues associated with domestic terrorism.

If the book you want is not at Fogler Library, use the "Request" link to ask for it from another library - we'll quickly ship it here and you can check it out!

To start your search, try these subject headings in URSUS (the online catalog):

Hot Topics: Ukraine-Russia Crisis

Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Books and Government Documents

URSUS Catalog Search