Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by
Call Number: HF5803 .A38 2003
From the publisher description: "Featuring nearly 600 extensively illustrated entries, The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising provides detailed historic surveys of the world's leading agencies and major advertisers, as well as brand and market histories.
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by
Call Number: HF5803 .B47 2013
This brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it.
SRDS newspaper advertising source
With over 3,200 newspaper listings, this serves as a primary research tool for objective information that helps marketers and advertising agencies plan, develop, buy and traffic newspaper advertising.
Databases for Advertising Research
Communication & Mass Media Complete - covers journals dealing with communications, advertising and journalism.
Proquest One Business - one of the largest business databases available to UMaine students, covering all aspects of business, including advertising
New York Times Historical - this database has complete scans of the New York Times, including the advertisements. This is a great source for doing research on the history of print advertising. Click here for a sample screen shot.
Statista - Statista has data from thousands of different sources on many different topics, including marketing data. Detailed reports on advertising trends can be found here, with statistical charts/
Ads of the World
This website has an everchanging gallery of advertising from all over the world. It includes ads in print, online and broadcast. It's searchable, so you look for specific companies.
American Advertising Federation
America's oldest professional advertising association.
A website about the mechanics of online ads and web design.
The Egotist Network
Egoist is a network of websites that monitor local advertising in selected US and international cities.