Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Business Research: Market Analysis: Strategies & Resources

COVID-19 Economic Impact

Industry/Market Research Report, Directory & Handbook

Maine Consumers

County Profiles
Online.  From the Maine's Center for Workforce Research and Information.

Economics & Demographics
Online.  From the State of Maine Office of Policy and Management.

Mainebiz: The Fact Book 

Maine Statistics from the Bureau of Economic Analysis 

Good for personal income statistics

Maine Newsstand
Full text coverage of the following Maine newspapers:

  • Bangor Daily News (1992 - )
  • Kennebec Journal (1993- )
  • Maine Times (1994-2002)
  • Morning Sentinel (1993- )
  • Portland Press Herald (1995 - )
  • Sun Journal (2006 - present) 

Market Research Strategies

Books/Journal Articles Sources

URSUS - Library catalog to find books/ebooks

Google Scholar - Find journal articles across databases.

Journal Article Databases

Business Premium Collection
It combines the broad coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources, most available full text.

Taylor & Francis online journals
170 journals covering Business, Finance & Industry (about 40 titles are also available in BSC).

Wiley Online Library
170 Journals covering Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting (about 80 titles are also available in BSC).

Springer Link
150 Journals covering business and management (about 25 titles are also available in BSC).

ScienceDirect
125 Journals covering Business, Management and Accounting (about 16 titles are also available in BSC).

SAGE Journals Online
110 Journals covering Management & Organization Studies, Marketing & Hospitality (about 20 titles are also available in BSC).

MBSTL

Maine Business Science Technology Library Portal (MBSTL)

The website is designed for small business owners with almost all free resources. It collected content from important national and local small business sources (SCORE, SBA, etc.) and organized them by topic. It links to webinars, handbooks, guides, templates and more. 

Primary Research Data Sources

Statista including Experian Simmons National Consumer Study; The Ipsos Affluent Survey USA 

Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition - 2.3

You can view the interactive map or create a report based on your industry and business locations. Try search your town or city first, if it provides limited data, try county or state. (Instruction on how to use this website)

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.