Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

SciFinder-n Database Guide: Home

Welcome!

SciFinder-n is a database created by the Chemical Abstracts Society (CAS) as a complete chemistry information resource. It's meant to help you prepare for research projects by providing you with trusted sources on substances, reactions, and references. 

SciFinder-n is an update of SciFinder. For more information on what's changed see the What's New tab in this guide.

Why do I need a SciFinder-n account?

SciFinder-n is a little different from other databases in Fogler's collection. It requires added security so in order to access it you need to create a personal account. One reason for this is that SciFinder-n gives users the ability to make purchases.

Log in not working?

Try clearing your cache or browsing history.

For more information on this see our guide on Troubleshooting.

That will often fix the problem, but if not contact Lindsay Decker for more help.

Access SciFinder-n

Log in to SciFinder-n here

 

New to SciFinder-n? Click here to create an account 

using your @maine.edu email address.

Check out this guide for tips and tricks on using this database! Questions? Contact Lindsay Decker

Notice for use of SciFinder-n

SciFinder may be used only for educational or academic research activities. All UMaine users must comply with the terms of the SciFinder license agreement, which will appear on each login. Your use of this database may be monitored by Chemical Abstracts Service. They may terminate access for all UMaine SciFinder account holders if they detect possible misuse.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Lindsay Decker
she/her
Contact:
Reference Services
Fogler Library
University of Maine
207-581-1679

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.