It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English: Dictionaries and Writing Resources
Widespread disease, contagion, epidemic, and pandemic, as represented in literature.
Internet Acronym Server Search for the meanings of abbreviations and acronyms, or find abbreviations and acronyms by typing in words. Includes a list of acronyms that have been searched for but not found.
Abbreviations.com Search acronyms and abbreviation, or move from words in combination to their abbreviation. Browse by categories (e.g. government, computing, etc.).
Dictionary of Old English
"The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
Reading, Writing, and Researching for History Part of a series of guides on the process of preparing papers in history prepared by the History Department at Bowdoin. The Writing guide includes sections devoted to structure, content, use of primary materials and formatting papers.
WTS Pamphlets (Indiana University) A series of documents, each on a specific writing situation, including “How to Write a Thesis Statement", “Writing Book Reviews”, and “Writing Resumes and Cover Letters”.
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography A Cornell University guide to the preparation of annotated bibliographies with sections defining the annotated bibliography, comparisons to abstracting, citation information and examples.