It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
U.S Department of Agriculture. The AWAHDC covers the history and use of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) including information on animal care and use topics, including the AWA and its regulations. The AWA covers animals bred for commercial sale, used in research, transported commercially, or exhibited to the public.
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope. Updated quarterly.
BIOSIS Previews Worldwide in scope, BIOSIS Previews, the premier database in the biological sciences, indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences. Subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Updated weekly
Indexes the broad area of the interactions of organisms with their environment. Includes information on conservation, pollution, management, environmental degradation, and reclamation. Ecology Abstracts can be searched by author, title, subject, and abstract word. Indexes over 800 journals. Updated monthly.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Containing over 40,000 records with approximately 1,500 added per year, this searchable bibliography contains books, articles, and dissertations on a variety of subjects related to forestry. It is maintained by the Forest History Society.
Established and maintained by the American Geological Institute, this database is the online equivalent of the print Bibliography and Index of Geology. Searching is by author, title, subject, and abstract keyword. Over 3,500 serial titles are scanned for inclusion. 1785-present.
Springer Nature Experiments is a collection of protocols and methods for life sciences research. It comprises Protocols Exchange (an open access repository); and subscription titles Nature Methods; Nature Protocols; and Springer Protocols, including Methods in Molecular Biology.
Index to international scientific literature on all aspects of water resources issues. Includes abstracts of journal articles (see serials source list), monographs, technical reports, books, and conference proceedings. Searchable by author and title, abstract, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1967. Updated quarterly.
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research. Comprehensive tool for prospective citation searching (finding journal articles citing a known source). Includes citations to articles on science, technology, engineering, and other multidisciplinary subjects.
Use Google Scholar through the registered Fogler Library link for more full text content.
Pro Tip: How to access articles
There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.