Subject Guides: Finding Research Funding and Grants: Funding for Nonprofits

Databases

Fogler Library maintains several computer workstations for the use of all library visitors, in the Information Commons (1st floor, near the east entrance to the library). If you are unaffiliated with the university, you can access these databases by visiting Fogler Library in person and using any of our public computers.

Foundation Directory Online Professional
Database of profiles from over 100,000 foundations and public charities; historical files on grants already made; and organizations' IRS 990s. Focused on the nonprofit community, but includes scholarships, fellowships, and research funding.
PIVOT
Integrated database that combines funding opportunities with researcher profiles. Geared toward the higher education community but includes opportunities specifically aimed at nonprofits.

The Foundation Center

The Foundation Center is an extensive source of information on philanthropy worldwide. According to their website, they "maintain the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants." Resources include: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, 990 Finder, Map of International Grants, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, budgeting and more.

Philanthropy News Digest/RFP Bulletin
Tips for Establishing a Nonprofit
"Before You Seek a Grant" Free Webinar
GrantSpace
Information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations

Grants & Philanthropy on the Web

Chronicle of Philanthropy
News and trends related to philanthropic efforts. UMaine's subscription to this resource can be found here.
A Foundation Insider’s 8 Tips to Help You Win Your Next Grant
A handful of suggestions from Martin Teitel, author of "The Ultimate Insider’s Guide to Winning Foundation Grants," to increase the likelihood of your next proposal getting funded.
The Nonprofit Times
Presents the latest grants in a variety of fields
The State of Grantseeking Reports
" The State of Grantseeking Survey spotlights recent developments in funding so that organizations can be more strategic in their grantseeking. The resulting free reports, published in May and November, can serve as a valuable benchmark for organizations to review their grantseeking efforts, and will provide leading-edge information months earlier than other annual surveys."
USA.gov for Nonprofits
Links to relevant information on types of nonprofits and how to start a nonprofit from the Internal Revenue Service.

Volunteer Resources

Volunteer Match
Volunteer Match is an ever-growing online network of nonprofit organizations and volunteers, and serves as a wellspring of information for nonprofit organizations looking for myriad types of volunteers. They offer resources specific to nonprofits, such as nonprofit partnership initiatives, information on building volunteer programs, and tips for online volunteer recruitment.

All for Good
A hub for volunteerism and community service on the Internet, All for Good provides the largest online database of volunteer opportunities. You can submit and manage volunteer postings, as well as find and share volunteer opportunities based on location or interests.

GrantSpace Resources
Includes information on finding and managing volunteers, and volunteer match organizations.

boardstrongUSA
boardnetUSA is a free online matching service that pairs nonprofit organizations with potential board members, based on the needs of the organization and the interests of individuals seeking nonprofit board service.