Interlibrary Loan - The Interlibrary Loan Department works with other libraries to get all of our patrons materials not held at any UMaine libraries. The service is available to everyone affiliated with the University of Maine, undergraduates, graduate students, staff, faculty, and emeritus faculty. It is also completely FREE!
Special Collections - Fogler Library’s Special Collections Department was established in 1970 as a repository for Maine-related material. Virtually all available printed bibliographical, historical, and descriptive works on the state as well as literary titles by Maine authors are housed in this department.
MaineCat The Statewide Catalog combines and links library collections across Maine. A single search scans more than 3 million unique titles and nearly 8 million items.
WorldCat WorldCat.org is a resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. By connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one search box.
Databases
America: History and Life Index to research on the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistoric times to the present. Includes references to journal articles, books and book reviews, dissertations, and collective works.
Historical Abstracts Index to articles, dissertations, and books on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Works on U.S. and Canadian history are covered in America: History and Life.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global provides 5 million citations and 2.5 million full-text works from thousands of universities all over the world.l
Web of Science Provides access to the Science Citation Index®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™, as well as other databases from the Search pull-down menu. Databases and the years they cover may vary by subscribing institution. Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary.
Project Muse
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR's moving wall policy for its journal archives means there is often a gap from 1-10 years between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of titles digitized from libraries around the world. The HathiTrust Digital Library database of more than 17 million volumes spans several centuries and many languages.
