Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

History: American History

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories, and Handbooks

  • Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
  • Oxford Bibliographies
  • Dictionary of American History  REF E174 D52 2003 (10 volumes)
  • Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History  REF HQ1410 R43 1998 e-book
  • Reader's Companion to American History REF E174 P43 1991
  • Encyclopedia of Women's History in America  HQ1410 C85 2000
  • Annals of America  REF E173 A793
  • Documents of American History  REF E173 D59 1988
  • Directory of Historical Organizations in the United States and Canada  REF E172 A538
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  REF HA202 .H57 2006

Biographical Sources

  • American National Biography  Stacks CT213 .A68 1999
  • Dictionary of American Biography  REF E176 D56

Foreign Relations of the United States

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Volumes in the series since 1952 are organized chronologically according to Presidential administrations, and geographically and topically within each subseries.

Electronic edition at the University of Wisconsin: Foreign relations of the United States. 1861-1958/1960 [375 vols.]

E-books edition at the Department of State, Office of the Historian: Foreign Relations of the United States [544 vols.]

From Department of State, Office of the Historian: Status of the Series [Recently Published and Planned Volumes]

All extant volumes in print form are available through tthe Fogler Reference Desk.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.