It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Native American Studies: Digital Libraries, Land Acknowledgments, Teaching Resources, and More...
Resources for research in Native American Studies.
"This exhibition and catalogue feature indigenous textiles from the ancient and modern Andes, as well as from the Maya of modern Guatemala and the Guna of modern Panamá. Looms and tools are also included to show the old and new ways cloth has been made by these varied indigenous American peoples."
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
Guide to Indigenous educational resources and material that can be found at the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick. Indigenous history, modern culture, and various subjects regarding the traditional Indigenous people and communities in New Brunswick, Canada are included. A summary, questions and answers, and photographs are included and are intended to be used by educational professionals.
From the Library of Congress: A collection of constitutions, codes, executive orders, and court forms and information of sovereign Indigenous governments and courts of 578 federally recognized nations, communities, and tribes in the United States, as well as some Indigenous legal information from Canada, published online. The Library attempts to acquire the most comprehensive collection possible. Collected resources are embargoed for a year prior to release, and so the collection was launched this summer. It’s a useful starting point for comparative research, and we hope that this tool will assist practitioners and scholars of Indigenous law in their work.
"our purpose is to serve as a forum for unified policy development among tribal governments in order to: (1) protect and advance tribal governance and treaty rights; (2) promote the economic development and health and welfare in Indian and Alaska Native communities; and (3) educate the public toward a better understanding of Indian and Alaska Native tribes."
A comprehensive guide for institutions such as museums, archives, libraries, and universities to recognize and respect Indigenous homelands, inherent sovereignty, and survivance. It builds upon the important work that the Lenape Center, American Indian Community House, Rick Chavolla, Emily Johnson, the New Red Order (NRO) and the Native American and Indigenous Student Group (NAISG) at NYU have been doing with regard to land acknowledgements in Lenapehoking.
This guide grew from a an Indigenous land acknowledgment event with the Lower Phalen Creek Project on Indigenous Peoples’ Day 2019, and is linked from the Native Governance Center, a Native American-led nonprofit organization located in St. Paul, Minnesota.
The Passamaquoddy-Maliseet Language Portal links the 19,000-entry online Passamaquoddy-Maliseet Dictionary with an extensive archive of videos of conversations and activities of Passamaquoddy-Maliseet speakers. The Portal is designed as a resource for language learning and research.
Provides a variety of services to tribes, Area Health Boards, Tribal organizations, federal agencies, and private foundations, including advocacy, policy, research on Indian health issues, training, and more.
Lessons and activities on Native American life and culture. Teach students of all ages about the colonization of America from a different perspective. Myriad activities can be used throughout the year for music, drama, art, and language arts.
"Oyate is a Native organization working to see that our lives and histories are portrayed with honesty and integrity, and that all people know that our stories belong to us... Our work includes critical evaluation of books and curricula with Indian themes, conducting workshops on “Teaching Respect for Native Peoples,” administration of a small resource center and reference library; and distribution of literature and learning materials for children, youth, and their teachers."
The Penobscot Nation Cultural and Historic Preservation Department, along with select tribal members, and knowledgeable Maine teachers worked collaboratively to design this culturally appropriate, teacher-friendly curriculum.
This Decolonizing Pedagogy Resource list was put together to support a partnership between the Penobscot Nation’s Water Resources Program (Jan Paul and Angie Reed) and the Department of Communication’s Environmental Communication Community of Practice (Bridie McGreavy and Tyler Quiring). Included are books and articles that focus on decolonizing and critical pedagogy, critical race theory, and indigenous studies; popular and digital media such as news articles, videos, and podcasts; websites and related online resources; links and information about maps, language, and place names; and other items that are specific to the course and Wabanaki histories.
From the University of New Brunswick’s Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre. "The Wabanaki Collection connects postsecondary educators, grade school teachers, and the general public with a variety of resources that support enhanced relationships between all the peoples of Eastern Canada and Northeastern United States. The project is named for the first peoples of this territory—Wabanaki or People of the Dawn—which include Mi’kmaq, Wolastoqiyik, Abenaki, Penobscot and Passamaquoddy. All content found in this collection will relate to Wabanaki worldviews, including history, culture, language and education."