Includes manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books), artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, rare printed books, photographs, & maps
Includes manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books), artwork (illustrations, sketches, watercolours, oil paintings, American Indian art), American Indian newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s, rare printed books, photographs, & maps
Includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first four decades of the 20th Century, and from 21 languages including French, English, 10 First Nations languages and several European languages, Latin and Greek.
Includes current, full-text newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
"Inventory of documents related to the Indians or their lands gathered from the various record series and manuscript collections at the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick."
The collection contains the papers of Fannie Hardy Eckstorm (1865-1946), well versed in the areas of Maine Indians, folklore, ballads and natural history, and author of numerous books on these subjects.
The collection contains copies of photographs of Penobscot Indian life taken in the field by Frank G. Speck around 1911, as well as copies of some photographs collected by him.
The collection contains Harriet Price’s papers documenting her participation in work with Maine’s Native American population and her activities as a citizen opposed to the war in Vietnam.
This collection contains copies of photographs of Passamaquoddy Indians in Maine made from original photographs held by the Smithsonian Institution Museum of American History.
This is a guide to selected resources concerning Native American People in Maine that are located in the Special Collections Department or are available on the Internet.
Includes data from the last 3 decades, plus related documents such as the handbook of the Tribal Governments Liaison Program, created to enhance the partnership between the Census Bureau and federally recognized tribal governments.
