Subject Guides: News Research: Home

News about Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education
Updated daily and provides news, information, and job search/listings for people in higher education.

Newspaper Source Plus
Full text access to over 1000 U.S. and international newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream
Search current full text news content, back to the 1980's. Includes The Wall Street Journal
Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes content from journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The University of Maine subscribes to the current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covering 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spanning 1959-1989.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 full text news, business and legal sources. Click on News in the top white bar to limit your search.

New York Times UMaine Access Pass
To create and activate your New York Times account, funded by Fogler Library for University of Maine users: 1) While connected to the UMaine network, visit AccessNYT.com. 2) Create your NYTimes.com account, using your UMaine email address. 3) Download your free NYT mobile app. Once you have created a personal account while logged in to UMaine, you may use it to log on via browser or app from any location.
ProPublica
Independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Freely available online.
Wall Street Journal
Back to 2010; can view by date of issue
Washington Post
Available from 2012; can view by date of issue