Subject Guides: Hot Topics: PFAS & "Forever Chemicals": Extending Your Research

Finding Scholarly Articles

Use our databases to find scholarly articles addressing PFAS and forever chemicals. To learn more about searching for and citing sources, visit our guide Library Research 101: How to Get Started.

Pro Tips:

Check the "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" box to get academic articles
Change the sorting method so the newest articles appear first
Try variations on these keywords: PFAS, "per-and polyfluoroalkyl substances," forever chemicals, sludge, PFOA, PFOS
Other Research Guides that could help you: Chemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Plant & Soil Sciences, Plastics and the Environment

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Licensed Number of Users: Unlimited
Coverage: 1960 to current
Locations: UM
Remote Access: Available
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
Provides full-text access to 120 years of chemistry research published in American Chemical Society journals from 1879. Also provides access to the monographs in the ACS Symposium Series from 1950 to present, and the C&EN [Chemical and Engineering News] Archive from 1923.
Locations: UM
Journal Coverage List: http://pubs.acs.org/about.html
Remote Access: Available
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Journal Coverage List: http://www.ebsco.com/title-lists
Remote Access: Available
GreenFile
GreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. GreenFILE coverage is 74% unique when compared to Environment Complete, which is a more scholarly database. GreenFILE is for the concerned person looking for information on individual response to environmental issues, such as solar or wind power options; on corporate response such as alternative energies used in the business sector; or on local or government impact such as environmental laws and studies.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Journal Coverage List: http://www.ebscohost.com/title-lists
Remote Access: Available

SciFinder-n

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Finding Books and Government Documents

Search the library catalog for books and government documents about PFAS and forever chemicals.. In addition to the books that we've suggested on each page, there are many books in our collection that address the many subtopics and issues associated with the topic.

The links below are subject searches in LibrarySearch. Change the "System Sorted" drop-down box to "Newest First" to find the most recent publication. Experiment with keywords, you never know what you might find.

If the book you want is not at Fogler Library, use the "Get It" link to request t from another library - we'll quickly ship it here and you can check it out!