For this course, you need to locate research either for your research paper or for your applied portfolio. For either track, you will need to locate at least 10 sources. Please get in touch if you need any help!
You can search for both books and articles in LibrarySearch, and there are filters, such as peer review for articles, that you can use. Once you've entered a search, sign in with your maine.edu credentials for the most access to full text.
Take a look at our LibrarySearch tutorial to get acquainted with this new system!
Other Ways to Find Articles
While LibrarySearch allows us to search all the databases Fogler has access all to at once, it generally gives us too many results. The first four links below are specialized, subject databases that can be used to find peer reviewed journal articles, through the lens of one discipline. I also link Google Scholar here, a tool that covers a wide array of subjects.
For this class, you are able to choose the citation format you use, but APA is listed as typical in political science. Here is specific information about APA style:
Here's an example of an APA 7th ed. journal article citation:
Mehrolhassani, M.H., Yazdi-Feyzabadi, V., Hajebi, A., & Mirzaei, S. (2019). Cross-country comparison of treatment policies facing the drug abuse in five selected countries. Addiction and Health, 11(2), 81-92. doi: 10.22122/ahj.v11i2.233
Getting Citations from Databases:
You can usually grab citations from library databases, choosing the format style you prefer. However, as with all citation generators, there are often mistakes that need to be corrected.
Below is an example of a APA citation from the database Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. While it is mostly correct, we would need to fix the capitalization used for the article title and subtitle:
