Is Google Scholar a useful resource for your research? Did you know that you can customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Fogler Library's subscriptions? This approach can save you time and get you to full text faster.
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Click on the Menu icon
3. Click on the Settings gear
4. Click "Library links," and then enter "University of Maine" in the search bar
5. Check "University of Maine - Full-Text @ Your Library" from the list of libraries (note that University of Maine is for students, staff, and faculty affiliated with the Orono campus; the other campus links will not work for Orono affiliates)
6. Click "Save"
7. Now, when you search Google Scholar, you will see a "Full-Text @ Your Library" link next to any subscription resources that we have access to through Fogler!
NOTE: Clearing your browser cache/history will require you to set up Library Links again. Never fear! Bookmark this guide and you'll be all set.
Whereas Library Links is great for finding a range of full text content on the open web, it is not adept at getting you to everything you might have access to via Fogler Library, like eBook chapters in our large eBook collection, online conference proceedings, and even articles that Google Scholar can't find but Fogler Library can (that's right, Google has its limitations!). That's where the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet comes in.
What is the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet?
The Proxy Bookmarklet allows you to quickly and easily access subscription journal articles and other electronic resources you find when doing research outside of the University's website. For example, if you are doing your research via Google, and you find a link to a resource that is only available for a fee, the bookmarklet will reload the page through the University's proxy server and provide you with full text access to the resource if we subscribe to it.
Let's install the Bookmarklet - it's a cinch! Go to the Proxy Bookmarklet page - it's a quick, two-step drag and drop!
How to use the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet
Why the Google Scholar Button?
You may not always be searching in Google Scholar, but that doesn't mean Google Scholar can't help you out on the open web! The Google Scholar button is a browser add-on that provides easy access to its content from any web page (currently works with Chrome, Firefox, and Safari). It can be used to find full text content available on publisher websites, in online reference lists, and elsewhere on the web. You simply select the title of the paper on the page you're reading, and click the Scholar button to find it. This will be of particular interest to those of you who leave the university but still want quick access to freely available full text on the open web.
Note: if you've enabled Library Links in Google Scholar (see Day 1 of the Challenge), the Google Scholar button will also provide a direct link to full text articles in the University of Maine library databases!
Pro tip: You can even use the Google Scholar button to format references in widely used citation styles. Press the quote button in the popup to see a formatted reference that you can copy into your manuscript. Or, download the BibTex file to upload the reference to your citation manager.
Want to install the Google Scholar Button? Let's get started!
1. Go to scholar.google.com
2. Click on the menu icon
3. Click on the Settings gear
4. Click on the Button link
Your browser will display a prompt that allows you to install the browser extension.
So far you've set yourself up for expert access to a wide range of sources on the web. Next, we'll look at ways to find theses and dissertations, which require different approaches to your search, and we'll consider how they can inform your scholarly practice.
5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 | (207) 581-1673