Subject Guides: SFR 521 Research Methods in Forest Resources: Home

Welcome to the SFR 521 Course Guide!

Welcome to UMaine and SFR 521. I have collected some helpful resources. Additional resources you might find useful are the Graduate Student Research Tips & Tricks guide and the Citation Managers guide. If you have any questions please let me know. Contact Heather Perrone (heather.perrone@maine.edu) at Fogler Library!

Find Research Articles with these databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a platform for full-text journals, e-books, and references from the publisher Elsevier
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Google Scholar (UM)
Coverage undefined, but good to check.
To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text. Contains harder to spot empirical articles.

Graduate Student Workshops

The following hourlong workshops are intended to support Graduate students. Workshops are on Zoom, you must register to attend. Registrants will receive a copy of the Workshop recording.

Literature Reviews: Citation Management

~~Learn to use citation managers and save time by organizing records of articles, books, and other publications to create in-text citations and bibliographies.~~

~~November 5, 2024 @ 4 pm on Zoom~~

Literature Reviews: Search Strategically

This workshop will cover advanced techniques to maximize database searching, including using controlled vocabulary, searching for foundational authors, and setting alerts to keep up-to-date with new sources related to your research topic.

~~November 6, 2024 @ 4 pm on Zoom~~

Literature Reviews: Citation Tracing

If you know how to find citations for articles, but don't know how to figure out if the library has access to those articles, this workshop is for you. Learn how to locate articles in library databases based on the citations you've found, and how to find even more articles using one article as a starting place.

~~November 12, 2024 @ 4 pm on Zoom~~

Literature Reviews: Research Metrics

~~In this workshop we will discuss different research metrics, how to interpret them, and how to set up alerts for metrics.~~

~~November 13, 2024 @ 4 pm on Zoom~~

Finding Full Text

Tools to help you get past Paywalls and to the full text of an article.

Proxy Bookmarklet
When Fogler Library pays for content this can push you past a paywall.
**If you downloaded this before June 2024, please download again!**
Interlibrary Loan
Can deliver electronic articles we don't subscrtibe to within a day or two.

Other Guides of Interest

Forest Resources
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 268 views this year
Parks, Recreation, and Tourism
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 38 views this year
GIS Resources
by Heather Perrone Last Updated Sep 13, 2024 1279 views this year
Graduate Student Research Tips & Tricks
by Amber Gray Last Updated Nov 7, 2024 679 views this year
Citation Managers
by John Hutchinson Last Updated Aug 30, 2024 1465 views this year
Cite Your Sources
by John Hutchinson Last Updated Aug 30, 2024 705 views this year

SFR 521 Research Methods in Forest Resources

Librarian

Citation of Sources