Subject Guides: Economics: Finding Statistics

Finding Statistics

Journal or Index Databases

EconLit
Contains citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Remote Access: Available
ProQuest One Business
ProQuest One Business combines the broad journal coverage of the ABI/INFORM database with specialty business resources, most available full text. It includes industry reports, country reports, company data (annual reports, profiles, SWOTs), market research, and analyses. Content types include scholarly journal articles, working papers, newspapers, blogs, podcasts, websites, books, case studies, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, magazines, standards and practice guidelines, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, working papers, video, and audio.
Locations: UM, UMA
Remote Access: Available
Google Scholar (UM)
Locations: UM
Remote Access: Available

Statistical Databases

Statista
Statista integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, Statista provides available metadata including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details, to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.
Locations: UM, UMM
Remote Access: Available
ProQuest Statistical Insight

Human Progress Data Sets
Data sets from the Cato Institute, covering a wide variety of economic and lifestyle topics. Everything from infectious diseases to manufacturing.

Government Statistical Agencies

Government Data Portals:

Data.Census.Gov The United States' Census Bureau's new portal for exploring census data. Includes infographics, the economic census and much more!

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

2017 Economic Census, data from this is still being released until November 2020, in the meantime check out the series of webinars about what data is available and how to use this resource.

2017 Economic Census Data tables- By Region, state and industry (NAICS Sector)

US Bureau of Economic Analysis- Quarterly GDP reports, trade gap reports, monthly personal income and outlays and much, much more!

Federal Statistics Agencies:

Over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics.

Research corresponding State Agencies to find the data at State level.

Advanced Google Search

Visit the Guide on Google Search Operators.