Subject Guides: Hot Topics: Sustainable Food Systems: Home

Statistics and Analysis

Big Facts on Climate Change, Agriculture, and Food Security
CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security
Food security & climate benefits through nationally appropriate mitigation actions in agriculture
Infographic from the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 11/2016
Hunger in America
CQ Researcher, 7/2017
Organic Farming Boom
CQ Researcher, 11/02/2018
Sustainable Food Industry
Statista dossier

Find More Statistics:

Agricultural Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistical compendium issued yearly by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, covering agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
Coverage: From 1994
Locations: UM, UMA, UMF, UMFK, UMM, UMPI, USM, BPL, LAW, MSL, LEG
Remote Access: Available
Statista
Statista integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, Statista provides available metadata including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details, to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.
Locations: UM, UMM
Remote Access: Available

Encyclopedias

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Karen Christensen (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Robin M. Collin; Robert William Collin
Publication Date: 2009-12-01

Organizations & Web Resources

CIAT: Sustainable Food Systems CIAT works in collaboration with hundreds of partners to help developing countries make farming more competitive, profitable, and resilient through smarter, more sustainable natural resource management.
Civil Eats Civil Eats is a daily news source for critical thought about the American food system, publishing stories around sustainable agriculture in an effort to build economically and socially just communities.
Environmental Working Group EWG is a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to protecting human health and the environment through research and education.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to achieve food security for all.
FAO: Sustainable Food Value Chains The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to achieve food security for all.
FoodPrint FoodPrint is dedicated to research and education on food production practices. Explains the benefits of more sustainable approaches to food production and consumption, and helps people raise their collective voices and take action to make real change in the food system.
Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition The Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) was launched at the UN in 2002 to tackle the human suffering caused by malnutrition. Working with partners, GAIN aims at making healthier food choices more affordable, more available, and more desirable.
Health Care Without Harm Health Care Without Harm works to transform health care worldwide so that it reduces its environmental footprint, becomes a community anchor for sustainability and a leader in the global movement for environmental health and justice.
International Food Policy Research Institute The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries.
Love Food Hate Waste Love Food Hate Waste aims to raise awareness of the need to reduce food waste and help us take action. It shows that by doing some easy practical everyday things in the home we can all waste less food, which will ultimately benefit our purses and the environment too.
Menus of Change An initiative from The Culinary Institute of America and Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health that works to realize a long-term, practical vision integrating optimal nutrition and public health, environmental stewardship and restoration, and social responsibility concerns within the foodservice industry and the culinary profession.
Organic Trade Association
OxFam America Oxfam is a global organization working to end the injustice of poverty. Their mission is to tackle the root causes of poverty, hunger, and social injustice, and create lasting solutions.
Quivira Coalition
ReFed ReFED takes a data-driven approach to move the food system from acting on instinct to insights to solve our national food waste problem.
Scaling Up Nutrition A UN-hosted project committed to transforming individuals' behavior to align behind nutrition priorities, scaling up nutrition in a faster, more equitable and sustainable way.
Schumacher Center for a New Economics Search the Schumacher Center's online collection of lectures and publications by category. Browse categories such as "Agriculture and Food" or "Earth Stewardship and Environmental Justice" to see related publications.
Sustainable Food Lab The Sustainable Food Lab was launched in 2004 as a non-profit organization to help organizations implement innovations in sustainability in the mainstream food system.
Sustainable Food Trust
UN: Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform The United Nations' Division for Sustainable Development Goals (DSDG) seeks to provide leadership and catalyze action in promoting and coordinating implementation of internationally agreed development goals, including seventeen Sustainable Development Goals.
USAID: Agriculture and Food Security USAID leads international development and humanitarian efforts to save lives, reduce poverty, strengthen democratic governance and help people progress beyond assistance. Their Agriculture and Food Security section includes general resources on food security and sustainable agriculture, as well as specific information on their efforts in these areas.
World Food Programme A humanitarian organization working to save and change lives, they deliver food assistance in emergencies, and work with communities to improve nutrition and build resilience.

Hot Topics: Sustainable Food Systems

In the News

Places to Begin

Science Reference Librarian

Statistics and Analysis

Encyclopedias

Organizations & Web Resources