Skip to main content
Banner Image

University Archive: About the University Archive

Welcome to the guide to the archive of University of Maine records managed by Raymond H. Fogler Library. This guide was created to highlight material currently part of our collection, information on how to use the Archive, and the transfer process.

History of Collecting UMaine Material

Raymond H. Fogler Library's Special Collections Department have been actively collecting University of Maine records since 1971 during the tenure of Frances C. Hartgen who was the first head of special collections. Our collection now includes over 800 boxes and we continue to work with University of Maine departments and groups on adding new material.

University Archivist

In September 2014, Matthew Revitt was appointed Special Collections and Maine Shared Collection Librarian with responsibility for managing Raymond H. Fogler Library's University Archive. Matthew is currently working on processing University of Maine related material that Special Collections has collected over time.   

Storage

The majority of physical University Archive records are stored at Fogler's Library Storage Annex. The Annex is a secure purpose built environmentally controlled storage facility.

Contact Information

Inquiries regarding Special Collections can be routed to:

  • Special Collections Department, 5729 Fogler Library, Orono, ME 04469-5729
  • phone: 207.581.1686
  • email: spc @ umit.maine.edu

For enquires regarding transferring material to the University Archives please contact Matthew Revitt on (207) 581-2665 or matthew.revitt@maine.edu.

Location & Hours

The Special Collections Department is located on the third floor of the Raymond H. Fogler Library. A member of the Special Collections staff is available to assist researchers during all open hours. For current opening hours please visit the Fogler webpages.

Accessing Material

Information about the processed University of Maine record groups can be found in the archival tool ArchivesSpace.

Please review our policies before coming in person to use the collection. Most of our boxed records are housed in the Library Annex. We require one week’s notice in order to make those materials available. Original records in Special Collections do not circulate. All use of original records must take place in the Special Collections Reading Room or Annex storage facility. Special Collections may provide copies of original records.

A growing number of Special Collections holdings are being digitized and made available for worldwide access at DigitalCommons@Maine.edu. Additional Maine resources are available through the HathiTrust Maine Collection.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.