It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Archive: Contributing materials to the University Archive
Welcome to the guide to the archive of University of Maine records managed by Raymond H. Fogler Library. This guide was created to highlight material currently part of our collection, information on how to use the Archive, and the transfer process.
Special Collections seeks records from administrative and academic departments and student organizations that document the history of the University of Maine. Special Collections are able to accept material in both physical and digital formats.
University of Maine Departments
University of Maine departments and groups (including student) should contact Special Collections Librarian Matthew Revitt (207 581-1634 or email@example.com) regarding the transfer of records to special collections. Matthew will arrange a time to meet with you and survey the records. Once agreement has been reached on transferring the records you will be asked to complete the below form and the material will then be picked up by one of our team of student workers.
The University Archives also welcomes material from alumni, former staff and faculty. You should contact Special Collection Librarian Matthew Revitt (207 581-1634 or firstname.lastname@example.org) regarding donating records to special collections.
Processing University Records
Records transferred to Special Collections will be processed by the University Archivist. Processing includes the arrangement, description, and housing of archival materials for storage and use by patrons.
Accession material into Special Collections including adding metadata from the transfer form into our archives management tool and shelve the material at the Annex.
Organize the material into a logical order.
Dispose of any material that is not required (most commonly this will be duplicate copies of items).
Catalog the material in the archives management tool, adding metadata like file titles, dates, scope and contents, and biographical and historical information.
Re-house material into acid free archival quality folders and boxes.
Remove metal paper clips and staples and replace with plastic ones which don’t corrode and bleed on to the paper.
Label boxes and folders.
Create an archival finding aid and add it to Digital Commons.
Create library catalog records for the record group.
Much of the physical processing is done by our team of student workers and volunteers who we rely on in Special Collections, thank you guys!
Material We Are Interested In
Examples of archival records we would like to have transferred to us:
Constitutions and by-laws, meeting minutes and proceedings, and reports of departments, committees, or task forces
Publications, including newsletters, handbooks, annual reports, program announcements, directories, catalogs, brochures, posters, and press releases
Policy and procedure documents, or those records that document decision-making processes
Correspondence and subject files of academic department heads, program heads, and senior administrators
Self-studies, histories, and accreditation reports
Biographical files on faculty, administrators, staff, and alumni
Audio and video recordings
Campus maps and architectural drawings
Records documenting the development of programs, curricula, student organizations, or special projects
Records documenting relationships with the community, government, other institutions, or the business community
Records and memorabilia documenting significant events on campus for example, anniversary celebrations
Special Collections is also the repository for faculty emeritus files. However, before you send the files please remove "tick box" student class evaluations and travel claims. And ensure the files only includes items relating to the granting of emeritus status, along with a curriculum vitae and biography (if available), details of promotions, essay style evaluations, and papers authored by the faculty member.
Material We Are Not Interested In
Examples of records we do not want transferred to us:
Training records (e.g. attendance lists and course materials)
Health & safety records
All the above records will include sensitive content that it would not be appropriate to add to our collection and make available to researchers.
Exact duplicate copies of anything
Routine correspondence, e.g., requests and acknowledgments
Records of routine matters, e.g., requests for leave, purchase orders, receipts
Reference files or research material, including news clippings, publications, and form letters of departments or organizations other than your own
Rough drafts of publications, articles or reports (in most cases)