Skip to main content
Banner Image

University Archive: Using the University Archive

Welcome to the guide to the archive of University of Maine records managed by Raymond H. Fogler Library. This guide was created to highlight material currently part of our collection, information on how to use the Archive, and the transfer process.

Accessing Material

 

Information about the processed University of Maine record groups can be found in the archival tool ArchivesSpace.

Please review our policies before coming in person to use the collection. Most of our boxed records are housed in the Library Annex. We require one week’s notice in order to make those materials available.

A growing number of Special Collections holdings are being digitized and made available for worldwide access at DigitalCommons@Maine.edu. Additional Maine resources are available through the HathiTrust Maine Collection.

 

Archival Finding Aids

Archival finding aids provide a description of records to help facilitate the discovery of information by allowing researchers to search and browse titles and also view information about the records such as their historical context.

These are finding aids for University of Maine offices, departments, and groups:

These are finding aids for University of Maine student groups, individual students, alumni, and classes:

There are also biographical files on alumni and retired staff & faculty stored in Special Collections and finding aids for the following faculty papers and records:

Note, many groups of University of Maine records do not currently have finding aids because they are yet to be processed. University Archivist Matthew Revitt hopes eventually to have finding aids for all of the University Archives' records and to make them available in Digital Commons.  In most cases unprocessed records are still available to researchers, see a Special Collections librarian for assistance (207.581.1686 or um.library.spc@maine.edu).

The following are groups of records are currently without finding aids:

  • Panhellen Council
  • Public Information and Central Services
  • National Poetry Foundation

UMaine Collections In Digital Commons

DigitalCommons@UMaine is an Institutional Repository (IR) that collects, preserves, and distributes UMaine’s artistic and intellectual output online. Content on Digital Commons is accessible to researchers from across the world.

The Digital Commons is coordinated by Fogler Library with financial support from the Office of the Vice President and Provost, the College of Education and Human Development, the Honors College, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and the Division of Lifelong Learning. Fogler Library staff have worked with University departments on capturing records, papers, publications, articles, and reports to be added to Digital Commons. You can view content posted by the individual campus groups here.

University Publications

Special Collections also stores many University of Maine publications which are maintained separately to the records in the University Archives. These publications are stored at Raymond H. Fogler Library and can be discovered in the library catalog URSUS.

There are also many University of Maine publication available electronically in Digital Commons, particularly the Maine Campus, catalogs and PRIM yearbooks

University Publications include:

  • OFFICIAL PUBLICATIONS: Reports of the President and other executive officers, course descriptions, time schedules, convocation programs, and academic regulations.
  • DIRECTORIES, GUIDES, AND HANDBOOKS: University-wide reference publications, including faculty, student, and alumni directories and campus guidebooks.
  • GENERAL NEWS AND CALENDARS: Official or administrative newspapers and newsletters, campus calendars, and schedules of events.
  • CATALOGS: Course descriptions, faculty and staff listings, and general University information
  • NEWSLETTERS AND PUBLICATIONS OF DEPARTMENTS, DIVISIONS, SCHOOLS, COMMITTEES, AND OFFICES: Annual reports, divisional research reports, departmental student and alumni newsletters, course guides of departments and divisions, and other publications pertaining to particular units of the University.
  • STUDENT PUBLICATIONS: Newspapers, literary and feature magazines, yearbooks, and newsletters of organizations, political groups, and residence halls
  • ALUMNI AND COMMUNITY PUBLICATIONS: General interest magazines, and publications associated with the Alumni Association and other groups
  • YEARBOOKS: PRISM yearbooks
  • THESIS

 

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.